Skip to content

Recipe Distraction Disorder, Part Deux

December 9, 2010

It’s that time of year when everyone is busy going to parties, planning parties, throwing parties, partying like it is 1999 and crying because it is their party and they will cry if they want to, damn it. Not to mention shopping till they drop, decking those halls, addressing cards, getting paper cuts from wrapping paper and getting Scotch brand tape tangled in their hair. (Or is that last one just me?) Which means of course it is prime season for…

RDD!

Yes, not only must we be wary of SAD (Seasonal Affective Disorder) and FGEEKD (Family Gathering Exacerbated Elf-Kicking Disorder), Recipe Distraction Disorder is raging in December.

Exhibit A:

IMG_1771_edited-1

Here is a pumpkin I roasted. I combined it in some ratio with brown butter, chicken broth, sage, and heavy cream and made a glorious sauce served over cheese ravioli. Doesn’t that sound great? Well, it was. But I didn’t take any more pictures and I can’t tell you the proportions. Good luck!

Exhibit B:

11-16-10_1901

Here is an example of RRDD, a condition that is often present concurrently with RDD. RRDD is Restaurant Review Distraction Disorder, wherein by the time you remember to blog about a restaurant you went to, you can’t remember what the hell that is in the bowl. It is often accompanied by CCP, or Crap-camophobia – the fear that your crappy cell phone pictures are so bad you will scare readers away from your blog in droves.

11-16-10_1905_edited-1

Ah, well, I may not remember much about the restaurant but at least we have Jennifer Myszkowski’s happy face posing with her dinner! Jennifer had actually just recently returned from Italy where she at lots of wonderful food and even posed with some of it, which also caused me to suffer from WTFE, or World-Traveler Food Envy.

But, there is hope! Recently, I made some more cookies from the awesome Desserts 4 Today. I did take a picture of the first three ingredients – almond paste, confectioner’s sugar, and egg white – after I whipped them all together in no time at all in the food processor.

IMG_1767_edited-1

The original recipe called for the cookies to be topped with pine nuts, but ever the switch-in fan, I went with mini chocolate chips instead.

IMG_1769_edited-1

And then I took this not half bad at all picture of the cookies under artificial light, right out of the oven. I just have no pretty final picture of the cookies all stacked up on a plate with natural light. I think we ate them too fast to do them that justice.

In the coming weeks I will try to do better, but I make no promises. First I am going to go work on this tape in my hair and then we’ll see how it goes after that.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2010 1:29 am

    Those cookies look like delicious little bites! Mmmmm

    I gotta say, I feel like I am missing something with the FGEEKD? Is this a recent phenomenon?
    (menomenah, doot doo de doo, doot doot de doot!)

    • December 10, 2010 2:08 pm

      Uhhh… just making up a funny… some people get stressed out by family gatherings at the holidays, might make them so stressed that they’d like to kick a jolly old elf perhaps?

  2. December 10, 2010 8:19 pm

    Hehe, I know how you feel! I’m just trying to stay on top of the holidays craziness and not let myself get stressed out. If that means forgetting a few things here or there, meh, I won’t tell if you won’t. 😉

  3. December 12, 2010 4:14 am

    Those cookies….they look so good!

    I never get to use natural light for my food. My kitchen doesn’t get any!! *sob*

Trackbacks

  1. Sex, Food, and Rock & Roll » » Um…where was I?

Leave a Reply

