Skip to content

Wayback Wednesday: Split Pea Soup

December 15, 2010

I’m totally stealing Wendi’s concept over at Bon Appetit Hon. Instead of Flashback Friday, I give you Wayback Wednesday! Today I am featuring a post that originally appeared on April 10, 2007 on my old blog Valley Victuals. I’m making split pea soup tonight and it smells great, which reminded me of this post. The following is a transcript of an actual IM conversation between me and my BFF, Renae. She’s crazy.

Renae: watching ace of cakes

Renae: man, his cakes are nice

Jennifer: yeah.

Jennifer: ut oh… airplane full of pukers on house

Renae: yeah, saw the preview and didn’t want to see it

Renae: cracking me up to read that though

Renae: “ut oh… airplane full of pukers on house”

Jennifer: haa

Jennifer: you know how much I like puke

Jennifer: i should go. I should blog. I am such a blog slacker lately

Jennifer: ooo, gotta take the soup off the stove too

Renae: look what brian just sent me…wackos

Renae: http://laughingsquid.com/bring-your-own-big-wheel-2007-photos-video/

Renae: mmm, what kind of soup?

Jennifer: haaa!

Jennifer: if I call it ham & bean will you say it is okay?

Renae: no

Renae: is it PEA

Jennifer: SPLIT pea BEAN

Renae: is it GREEN

Jennifer: yes

Renae: oh that’s just bad

Jennifer: but you like ham & bean!

Renae: i like ham

Renae: i like beans

Renae: DON’T LIKE GREEN SPLIT PEA SOUP

Renae: (barf)

Renae: (barf)

Jennifer: you liked your german friend’s ham & bean!

Renae: oh that was good crap dude

Renae: no peas in there

Renae: mmmm

Jennifer: no peas in split pea bean soup

Renae: but it’s green

Renae: (barf)

Jennifer: so? you will not eat green soup & ham, sam I am?

Renae: i will not eat it sam i am!

Renae: not on a boat, not with a goat

Jennifer: not in a box? not with a fox?

Renae: take a picture of it and blog it and let me see it

Jennifer: I don’t think that will help!

Renae: unless it’s green…i dont’ want to see it if its green

Jennifer: it’s green

Jennifer: smells good

Renae: (barf)

Renae: smells like crap

Jennifer: all porky goodness

Jennifer: nuh-uh

Renae: i almost choked on my pretzels i’m laughing so hard

Renae: i guess i’m tired

Jennifer: smells just like your german friend’s ham & bean!

Renae: oh that was good crap dude

Jennifer: smelled good, like mine

Renae: nah, yours smells green

Renae: green crap

Jennifer: green doesn’t have a smell

Renae: (barf)

Renae: (barf)

Jennifer: smokey hammy porky has a smell though

Renae: that it does

Renae: that’s a good smell

Renae: all things pig are good

Jennifer: that’s what my soup smells like

Split Pea Bean Soup (No peas involved!)

2 lbs dried split pea beans

4 quarts water

1 ham bone

2 cups finely chopped celery

2 medium onions, finely chopped (about 1 cup)

1 tablespoon dried parsley, or one sprig chopped fresh

1/2 teaspoon pepper

Rinse peas in colander. Heat peas & water to boiling; boil gently for 4 minutes. Remove from heat; cover & let stand for 1 hour. Add remaining ingredients. Heat to boiling. Reduce heat and simmer for 2-1/2 to 3 hours, or until pea beans are very soft. Stir occasionally to keep from sticking. Remove bone, trim meat from bone and add to soup. If needed, thin with chicken broth or water. Season to taste.

(Recipe – thanks to Linda A.)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2010 12:53 pm

    Haaaaaa! I loved that post! I think it was one of my favorite VV posts of all time. Thanks for the laugh this morning.

    • December 16, 2010 1:08 am

      You’re welcome! I was happy share this important discussion of important issues again.

  2. December 15, 2010 1:32 pm

    Smokey hammy porky has to be one of the best smells ever. Glad my Flashbacks inspired you to start your Waybacks.

  3. December 15, 2010 1:35 pm

    “All things pig smell good.” “That’s what my soup smells like.” You totally cracked me up this morning.

Trackbacks

  1. Sometimes a post writes itself « Karma's When I Feel Like It Blog

Leave a Reply

