Skip to content

Recipe Distraction Disorder

October 22, 2010

Ladies and gentlemen, I’d like to make a confession.  I suffer from a strange and blog-debilitating disorder.  Perhaps you’ve heard about it. It’s called RDD – Recipe Distraction Disorder.  I never know when it is going to strike, but evidence of its effects can be found on my camera’s memory card.

IMG_1048

Why, look at this artfully composed shot of tasty ingredients, including bacon!  Mmmm, bacon.  If you are a meat eater and you had to choose just one to live on for life, which would it be?  Beef, pork, poultry or seafood?  I lean towards pork, after all, bacon is included in that category.  And ham.  I do love a good ham.  Wait, what was I talking about??? 

Right.  This photo.   You see, it is the only one of this recipe.  I went ahead and made a glorious bacon-y potato salad with that bounty and failed to take a picture of the finished product or blog about.  I’ll blame the bacon.  But there’s more!

IMG_1440

I made Sugarcrafter’s beautiful Leek & Prosciutto Puff Pastries for a party.   This is the before picture.  There is no after picture.  The after was awesome.  All puffy and pretty and sophisticated.  They were a huge hit at the party and they all disappeared in a hurry.  Well, prosciutto is a cured pork product.  Hmmm.

IMG_1592

Sometimes RDD manifests itself in other ways.  Like this frittata.  At leat it is the finished product, but this is the only picture and it is blurry and pretty unappetizing looking.  I am not quite sure why I took it.  There weren’t even any pork products to explain my distraction away.

IMG_1597

Here’s a nice chuck steak from the CSA that became a fantastic pot roast, after a lot more cooking and no more photos.  Why, pot roast?  Why?  I made the pot roast a little differently this particular time and the sauce was divine.  But I didn’t take any notes either and I don’t remember exactly what I did so…. sorry, I won’t be telling you about that one.

IMG_1330

Shocking, I know. 

So, people, don’t let RDD happen to you.  Food is awesome and all but if you are going to blog about it, stay strong!  Stay focused!  Take pictures, take notes.  Don’t let the food get the best of you, man! 

(This has been a public service announcement on behalf of the RDD Foundation. Please don’t send donations.  Send bacon. Thank you.)

16 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2010 1:07 am

    That happens to me from time to time… I’ll start a dish one way and it goes in a completely different direction. Sometimes it’s fun, other times not so much.

  2. October 22, 2010 1:00 pm

    Hi, I’m Wendi and I suffer from RDD. There, that feels better.

  3. October 22, 2010 1:02 pm

    This sums up my life. Not just food. My entire life.

  4. October 22, 2010 1:42 pm

    This is basically the story of my life since July. I was blaming it on Marathon-Training-Induced Brain Fog, but it’s nice to know that it’s just RDD, and that there’s support out here for me. 🙂
    I resolve to fight the good fight, or at least to take some darn notes.

    • October 22, 2010 11:19 pm

      Okay,training for a marathon surely deserves a pass on any RDD symptoms. It’s a better excuse than bacon delirium anyway! 😉

  5. October 22, 2010 2:21 pm

    Haha, I totally know what you mean! And I love the picture of the kitty at the end that has nothing to do with anything. Maybe I’ll try that some time when I forget to finish taking photos and see if anyone notices. 😉

    • October 22, 2010 11:20 pm

      Yep, just another random image found on my memory card! I have no explanation.

  6. October 22, 2010 8:06 pm

    I may be guilty of this! I know I’m not a food blogger, but food has slipped in to my posts from time to time, and I’m sure I’ve seen random pictures of food in my photo archives that I’ve never done anything with. Must have been recipes I’ve thought of sharing and never did.

    • October 22, 2010 11:21 pm

      I think RDD can strike anyone at any time and just manifests itself in different forms. Be vigilant.

      • October 23, 2010 1:21 pm

        What is the cure? How are we to be vigilant against this syndrome? 😉

  7. October 22, 2010 8:19 pm

    This happens to me ALL THE TIME. I’m glad I’m not the only one! this post made me laugh, and feel not so alone in the world. Thanks for that. 🙂

    • October 22, 2010 11:21 pm

      The comments on this post are making me feel RDD is quite widespread! We are not alone.

  8. October 24, 2010 4:13 pm

    LMAO! I’m sooooo a member of the RDD Foundation. I tend to get so hungry while cooking that I forget to take pictures, or I can’t be bothered to set up my tabletop tripod and get some really great shots.

    Bah.

Trackbacks

  1. I am not a food blogger… « Karma's When I Feel Like It Blog
  2. Recipe Distraction Disorder, Part Deux « Bread & Putter

Leave a Reply

