Skip to content

Pecan Crusted Lamb Chops

December 7, 2010

After my posts about fresh ham and stuffed pumpkin, I joked that maybe my blog is becoming a Fine Cooking tribute blog. And that glorious pumpkin cake from my last post? That was from Fine Cooking too. Well, guess what? I made these lamb chops from Fine Cooking last week and I just have to tell you about them! But first, wait a minute while I actually go fill out that subscription card right now.

Okay. That’s better. Just saved myself a few bucks. Anyway! Lamb chops. I don’t know exactly what type of lamb chops these are except they are from the CSA and they just said “Lamb Chops” on the package, not rib chops or shoulder chops.

IMG_1761

And some of them are different sizes than others. What I do know for sure is that they have been fantastic on the grill but it is too darn cold and dark around these parts lately for me for grilling. So, when I saw this recipe for Pistachio Crusted Lamb Chops in the Nov/Dec issue and saw that they were made under the broiler, I was sold. Except I didn’t have any pistachios. I did, however, have pecans. Pecan Crusted Lamb Chops it is!

IMG_1763

The way the recipe comes together was also intriguing to me. First, the spices are rubbed into the chops and each side is pre-broiled for a couple minutes. The crusting happens after the first broil. You remove the chops from the oven, brush one side of each with the honey & lemon juice mixtures, and then press on the nuts.

IMG_1764

Broil that side, take them back out of the oven, and do the same to the other side, and bingo-bango, they are done!

IMG_1765_edited-1

Since I wasn’t quite sure of the cut of these chops and if they might be a little thicker than the rib chops the recipe called for, I kept mine under the broiler a little longer than the recipe called for. Then I removed them from the oven, turned the broiler off and put the oven on low, covered the chops with foil, inserted a probe thermometer and heated until medium-rare and delicious!

I served them alongside rice pilaf and a little madzoon. Madzoon is the Armenian word for yogurt, but for some reason in my husband’s family it really means plain yogurt with cucumbers, and all together it made the perfect, easy Mediterranean meal. Now, if you’ll excuse me I have to go peruse the pages of Fine Cooking for the next awesome thing I should make!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2010 1:54 am

    I don’t even like lamb, and I want these. Want them now.

    Don’t you just love Fine Cooking? I’ve been so impressed with it lately.

    • December 9, 2010 2:12 am

      The word I keep coming back to with Fine Cooking is compelling. I want to cook SOOO many recipes out of every issue!

      It took me awhile to come around to lamb, but now I am crazy for it. This came in a VERY close second to charred on the grill. There’s nothing like lamb char!

  2. December 7, 2010 1:48 pm

    All Fine Cooking, All The Time could be your new tag line.

  3. December 7, 2010 6:15 pm

    Fine Cooking loves your Fine Cooking tribute blog! Thanks for sending us the link (you made us blush:)

    • December 9, 2010 2:31 am

      Thank you for all the great recipes!! And thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  4. December 9, 2010 1:49 am

    Can I come over for dinner? Right. Now. (Seriously, my grandparents owned a pecan orchard and I have never, ever tired of pecans. Or lamb. Or gorgeous recipes like this one.)

Leave a comment