Skip to content

Stuffed Pumpkin

November 18, 2010

People, THIS is a Thanksgiving recipe! If you are looking for something a little different, something impressive and incredibly festive, you must add this to your Thanksgiving table. Not to mention, if you are going to stuff something, it might as well be a harmless little gourd, rather than a dead bird swarming with microbes. Just saying.

IMG_1747

I am all about Fine Cooking these days and I follow them on Facebook. Last week I saw a link to this recipe for Pumpkin Stuffed with Everything Good by Dorie Greenspan and I thought, huh… stuffed pumpkin, you say?  I could do that!  My husband happened to bring home five pumpkins from work a few weeks ago that his farmer friend brought in. And actually, no, it was not the same friend who gave us the duck eggs.  We live out here in the wilds of Western Massachusetts, you never know what your friends might bring you! Anyway, I easily resisted the urge to cut up the pumpkins into amusing jack-o-lantern styles for Halloween because I don’t actually like Halloween much.  Nope, not really.  But Thanksgiving?  Yes!!  That is a holiday I can fully support.

IMG_1748

What’s not to like about a holiday that is all about eating and eating well? Not just candy but wondeful savory dishes too, like mashed potatoes and squashes and stuffing and hey, why not? Stuffed squashes. This stuffing reminded me a bit of the savory bread pudding I usually make for Thanksgiving, except with bacon!!  And how could bacon hurt anything?  That’s right.  It couldn’t.  Except I didn’t have any bacon. I did have pancetta though!  Mmmm, cured spiced Italian pig – works for me.

IMG_1749

My pumpkin was bigger than the recipe called for and I kind of have to wonder if 2.5 – 3 pounds was correct. My pumpkin was not all that big and it weighed 5 pounds. I added a few extra bread cubes and extra cheese and cream to fill it up.

IMG_1751_edited-1

And look at this beauty right out of the oven!! All browned and roasted and beautiful! When serving, you can scoop into the pumpkin flesh and pull up pumpkin along with the stuffing and it all combines into a fantastic Thanksgiving-style mouthful. I was apparently far too eager to dig in to take a picture of it on the plate. But, that’s okay – it’s pumpkin, it’s cheese, it’s pancetta, and it’s heavy cream, man. What’s not to like? Just do it.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2010 2:19 pm

    Your pumpkin is gorgeous — I’m so glad you liked it. It’s what I’ll be serving at Thanksgiving. Actually, it’s what I’ve been serving all fall, but nobody will complain when this makes a repeat appearance.

    • November 19, 2010 12:45 pm

      Thank you so much for stopping by, Dorie! And thanks for the great recipe.

  2. Susan permalink
    November 18, 2010 3:32 pm

    Salivating over this post has caused my laptop to short-out. I will be invoicing you for a replacement. 😉

    This looks truly fantastic. I love vegetable dishes, and I can almost smell this from the other side of the planet. What gorgeous photos!

    • November 19, 2010 12:46 pm

      Susan, you made me laugh as usual and thank you on the photos!!

  3. November 18, 2010 4:52 pm

    I wish my neighbors would bring me swell things like pumpkins. Love all the ingredients so I’m sure the final product was spectacular. Now I’m going to be dreaming of stuffed pumpkins instead of sugar plums….thanks.

    • November 19, 2010 12:46 pm

      I’d have to say that stuffed pumpkins are way better than sugar plums anyway. Not that I’ve ever had a sugar plum, but still.

  4. November 18, 2010 6:07 pm

    Brilliant! I would love to make this. You have inspired me!

  5. November 19, 2010 5:56 pm

    Genius! I’m totally drooling right now. And I really have to subscribe to Fine Cooking…love that magazine. 🙂

  6. November 20, 2010 2:10 pm

    I’m quite curious! I’m not a huge pumpkin fan, but the stuffing sounds interesting. Are you making this for T-day? I’m still making the pointless exercise recipe, right?

  7. November 21, 2010 12:38 am

    Wow, this looks great! I just bought some small pumpkins, so maybe I’ll give this a shot!

  8. November 24, 2010 9:33 am

    This looks so delicious! Pumpkin and stuffed food are not typical food here, actually I have never tasted pumpkin. Perhaps I will now, after having seen this. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Pecan Crusted Lamb Chops « Bread & Putter

Leave a Reply

