Skip to content

Pork Shoulder via Twitter

January 11, 2011

As I have mentioned before, Twitter is an interesting thing.  It’s also a dangerous thing if you aren’t trying to waste some time. One link leads to another and to another until suddenly it is an hour later and what was it you were looking for?  But the good news is that sometimes what you weren’t looking for finds you instead. Like this Cider-Braised Pork Shoulder with Caramelized Onions.

IMG_1926

 It found me when Chris @ThePeche retweeted @SassyRadish‘s post and the words “cider” “pork” and “caramelized” grabbed me by the shoulders, shook me hard and shouted, “My God, Woman! Click the link! Click the link!” So I did, and I wasn’t disappointed. Sassy Radish has beautiful photos and a gorgeous recipes and I’ll be a regular visitor now.

IMG_1929

For once, I was clever enough to print the recipe immediately and stash it with my cookbooks. But don’t think I forgot about it or lost it there. Oh, no. Not this one. This recipe lurked in my brain because we usually receive a pork shoulder with our monthly CSA shipment and I just knew this would be the perfect use for one.

IMG_1930

And I was right! Not only did the meat come out fall-off-the-bone tender as promised, the caramelized onions braised in the apple cider were nothing short of revelation. So, thank you Chris and thank you Olga and thanks to Twitter for hooking me up!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2011 4:55 pm

    You are hilarious! I love your writing style here and on Twitter! 🙂

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      January 13, 2011 9:11 pm

      Awwww, thanks!!! 🙂 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Made up Pork Stew FTW! « Bread & Putter
  2. Pork Stew with Caramelized Onions

Leave a comment