Skip to content

Fine Cooking rides again!

January 13, 2011

Before I even got the new February/March issue of Fine Cooking (which has an amazing looking bacon-covered meatloaf on the front cover), I saw a link to this recipe for Lamb & Sweet Onion Pitas and Orange Cucumber Salad on Facebook.  I printed it and ran home with it and made my husband read it. Behold – something different to do with all that ground lamb from the CSA!  Rejoice.

IMG_1952

As much as my husband loves a good lamb kebab or grilled lamb chop, the ground lamb? Not so much. But, those smarty-pantses over at Fine Cooking have combined it with this bright and beautiful salad:

IMG_1953_edited-1

So simple, but so perfect – sweet onion, thinly sliced English cucumber, oranges, red wine vinegar, and salt & pepper. It’s sweet, it’s tangy, it’s crunchy – just the blast of flavor you need in the middle of winter.

IMG_1954_edited-1

Combined with more onions that have been caramelized, the browned lamb with a little cinnamon, and some creamy Greek yogurt, this was a pita full of kapow! Crash! Bam! FLAVOR!!! Just enough flavor even that my husband didn’t seem to mind the sad old ground lamb. Although, even if you don’t like lamb ground or fileted or grilled or wrapped in bacon and deep fried (come on, wouldn’t you at least try that??), I urge you to just try this salad. I think that will become a regular winter side dish here. Scroll back up and look at that again – crunchy! Sweet! Tangy! Fun! Do it.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2011 3:35 am

    Oh! Your photos are gorgeous and are making me hungry. Thanks for sending us the link. You’ve made us proud:)

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      January 14, 2011 7:02 pm

      Glad you enjoyed it, Michaela!! Now I’ve got to go investigate those 8 different meatloaves.

  2. January 14, 2011 5:41 pm

    This sounds like a great combination of flavors and textures for a dish that will wow anyone. I’m looking at your pics and I’m already impressed.

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      January 14, 2011 7:04 pm

      It’s a wake-up call for your winter tastebuds! Thanks for stopping by, Lisa!

  3. January 14, 2011 5:44 pm

    That salad really does look tasty – it is sometimes difficult to enjoy a tasty salad in the winter time. The pitas might be just as good with some strips of chicken or beef seasoned with Greek seasoning for us non-lamb eaters.

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      January 14, 2011 7:04 pm

      Yes, I believe they would be just as good with one of the meats you mentioned! Or just eat the salad. Seriously. So good. Oh, I think next time I’ll try it with blood oranges!

  4. January 14, 2011 9:00 pm

    Good cooking and good photo!.. I like it…

  5. January 15, 2011 12:21 pm

    As much as I love lamb, I’m not a fan of it ground either. I wonder why it tastes so much more musty ground up?

  6. March 31, 2011 11:47 am

    Oooooh, yours look fantastic! 🙂 This definitely was a super delicious recipe!

  7. Kredyt permalink
    November 19, 2011 6:17 am

    Nice topic i think the same about it.

Leave a Reply

