Skip to content

Roast Chicken with Herbed Compound Butter

October 25, 2010

First, the good news.  The parsley, oregano, peppermint and rosemary are still thriving in my garden.  So, when I decided to roast a whole chicken for dinner today, I plucked some parsley and rosemary and the few teeny tiny remaining leaves of thyme I had and mixed them with some softened butter.  I took the chicken out of the package and this is what I found:

IMG_1648_edited-1

This poor chicken’s skin was perforated all over with these rather large holes. Either it had some pluck-resistant feathers or Dick Cheney was involved with its death.

IMG_1650

I carried on despite the bird’s sad condition and rubbed the herbed butter under the skin. I used about two tablespoons of butter along with about a tablespoon and a half of chopped herbs. Which sounds like a lot of butter, but not really when you find out that about half the butter ends up relentlessly stuck to your hands instead of to the bird.

IMG_1649

Have you seen these cool little silicone rubber bands? You use them instead of kitchen twine and they are washable and reusable. Me likey.

Here’s the thing. Although I managed to take pictures of this bird throughout the process, my RDD is still haunting me because I can’t really give you my complete technique in a concrete way. I will tell you I put the chicken in a roasting pan and instead of a rack, I placed it upon some chunked up onions, garlic, celery and carrots, a la Alton Brown. I started it at 375 and stuck a probe thermometer in the thickest part of the meat, near the rear of the breast towards the drumstick.

But then I remembered that I intended to make bread to go with dinner which cooks at 450 for 30 – 40 minutes. I cranked the temperature of the oven up, pulled the bird out while it was heating, changed my mind and put the bird back in, tented with foil. I put the bread in to bake, and when it was done, I took the foil off of the chicken and let it finish at 450 until the thermometer reached 165 degrees. I poured off the juices and let it rest for about 15 minutes while I made some gravy.

IMG_1651_edited-1

Another odd thing – I did not brine this chicken and therefore I thought the drippings would make some swell gravy, especially with those nice veggies I roasted the bird upon. I did not add any salt to the gravy yet it was super duper salty, like a brined bird level of salty drippings. So – strange bird. It was a Stop & Shop brand roaster, so that was probably my mistake right there.

IMG_1652_edited-1

Despite all this, the meat was pretty darn good anyway. It was moist and flavorful and not particularly salty at all. Go figure. So, take from this what you will – try the herbed butter if you’d like, roast it at some temperature, see what happens!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2010 2:11 pm

    Jennifer, that bird had some bad skin that’s for sure. But when the skin gets all golden brown and crispy from the buttah, it doesn’t matter one little bit. I think my favorite part of roasted chicken is the skin.

  2. October 25, 2010 5:17 pm

    omg, I went to make that! It looks so good. But- get this. Here in Canada chicken costs more than beef. ??

  3. October 25, 2010 8:09 pm

    That would be perfect in a sandwich! 🙂

  4. October 26, 2010 5:36 am

    Weird…I wonder what makes the skin look like that. The finished product sure looks good though!

  5. November 11, 2010 3:00 pm

    Your chicken has my mouth watering, but I really must know – where did you find those silicone rubberbands? Those are genius!

Leave a comment