Skip to content

Raspberry Mojito Sorbet

July 6, 2010

Oh, that Ivory Hut!  She seems so sweet and innocent but look what she made me do!  It’s all her fault.  It all started with this drink back in May at Foxwoods.  It was a raspberry mojito and it was so delicious and refreshing.

IMG_0424

I had already decided I was going to have to try to replicate that drink at home when a couple weeks later, Ms. Hut posts two intriguing recipes on her site – gin & tonic sorbet and then a green mango margarita sorbet.  First, she was totally singing my song with the gin and tonic sorbet – that is my all-time favorite cocktail.  And while the margarita one sounded tasty, me and tequila do not get along.  At all.  But, why couldn’t I use similar proportions and apply them to that delightful mojito?

IMG_0728

I started by making the simple syrup and adding some fresh picked mint from my garden to the mix to steep.

IMG_0729

While the sugar dissolved, I zested and juiced two small limes and also chopped fine some reserved mint.

IMG_0731

Next I mixed about a cup of frozen raspberries with 1/2 a cup of water in my blender and tossed in the chopped mint.

IMG_0732

I mixed the lime juice and zest with the syrup and then added that and 1/2 a cup of rum to the mixture in the blender.  I took it for one more spin and then put it in the fridge to chill before freezing it in my ice cream maker.  It came out like a slush, which I tasted and whoo!  It was quite rummy!  But I had a feeling the flavors would mellow as it froze and I was right:

IMG_0750

The end product in all its glory was actually quite nicely balanced and so perfectly refreshing on this 97 degree summer day!

IMG_0754

Don’t you just want to dive right in?  I’d have more but it is a work night, darn it.  So, what is your favorite cocktail and should we make a sorbet out of it? 

Raspberry Mojito Sorbet

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup packed fresh mint leaves
  • 1 cup fresh or frozen raspberries
  • 2 small limes, zested and juiced
  • 1/2 cup rum ( I used Bacardi Superior)

Heat the sugar with 1/2 cup of water.  Reserve a few mint leaves and toss the rest in with the sugar and water.  Heat until the sugar disolves and let cool.  Add the lime juice and zest to the sugar mixture. 

Mix the raspberries with 1/4 cup of water in a blender. Chop the reserved mint leaves fine and add to the raspberries.  Add the rum and the sugar mixture and blend just till combined.  Chill in the refrigerator.  Strain the mixture before pouring into the bowl of an ice cream maker.  Freeze according to ice cream maker’s instructions and then place in a resealable container in the freezer until firm.  Serve with lime wedges on the side or more fresh raspberries.  Or both.  Go wild.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2010 12:47 pm

    Ooh, sounds lovely! You could’ve brought those here on Sunday! But I suppose you and Ozzie would have had to sleep over, LOL. Did you see that Ozzie got a link on my last post?
    I don’t know what I’d like to make a sorbet out of – cosmopolitan maybe?

  2. July 6, 2010 5:21 pm

    Yuumm….I haven’t had a mojito in so long. The idea of alcohol as a frozen treat is oh so tantalizing. I might have to celebrate my new job with one o’ these. I bet a Mai Tai sorbet would be good, too.

  3. July 7, 2010 10:59 am

    Jennifer, that looks delightful.

  4. Anne permalink
    August 4, 2010 2:19 am

    MMMMMM, these were out of this world!!

Leave a comment