Skip to content

More Grass-fed Meats

July 1, 2010

We’ve been continuing to work our way through the shipment of grass-fed meats and for the most part, we’ve been pleased.

IMG_0688

I ordered a pound of lamb kebab meat and prepared it Armenian-style. (I’ve blogged this recipe before) I was pleased not to have to cut up the meat myself although we did find a few chewy pieces here and there that I probably would have cut out if I had cut it myself.

IMG_0690

I also made burgers with the ground beef. I don’t know what the fat content is of the ground beef, but it looked pretty similar to the beef I used to buy at Costco which I think was 87 or 88% lean. Whatever it is, it made a great burger – so good that the next day my husband brought it up again, which is very unusual for him!

IMG_0695

Our next selection was a top round steak. I did a little research and found that it is usually a tougher cut that fairs well with an overnight marinade. I found a simple marinade recipe in the Gourmet cookbook and tweaked it a little, tossing in a little Worcestershire and cutting back a bit on the red wine vinegar.

IMG_0709e

The next day I grilled it and served it sliced thinly on a salad. I enjoyed it and thought the flavor of the meat was very good, but my husband complained that it was too tough. I really thought most of it was fine, but there were one or two pieces which seemed tougher. I guess he got more of them!

IMG_0711e

The next day there was still some steak leftover so I went back to the steak & cheese well and threw together a reasonable sandwich and nobody complained about toughness when it was topped with melted cheese and onions and peppers and enrobed in a tasty toasted roll!

We also tried the pork chops. For some reason, I had a lone, single frozen pork chop still in the freezer from Costco so I thawed that along with the two grass-fed chops so we could compare. They were slightly different cuts, both bone-in, but side-by-side, the grass-fed was just better. They were very close, but again the word that comes to mind is cleaner – somehow, the grass-fed has a cleaner, fresher taste.

So far, I am very happy with my purchase and I am probably going to order again soon.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2010 1:14 pm

    Do you have to order in bulk from this company in order to make the cost reasonable? Can you order small amounts to try things out?

    Your food pics look nice and sharp in this post, especially the last two! Do you have a “cuisine” setting on your spiffy new camera?

    • July 2, 2010 2:05 am

      They have sampler packages or you can order individual cuts of meat. I think the prices are fairly reasonable, especially for the steaks.

      No cuisine setting – I just had good light that night!

  2. July 2, 2010 2:41 am

    Mmm…I’ve been trying to find some pastured beef farms in Western Mass and can’t seem to find anything that is either less than an hour away or ships. I might give this place a try since they would ship it here. Thank you for the recommendation! I’ll check them out.

Leave a Reply

