Skip to content

Layered Brownie Chocolate Chip Cookie Thing

February 13, 2011

When I first saw this post on My Kitchen Addiction by the amazing Jen Schall, right away I thought now THAT is what my husband would like for Valentine’s Day. It’s a brownie with a peanut butter chocolate chip cookie layered on top – two of his favorite things! And then Jen and I discussed on Twitter and agreed that it would be quite nice served warm with ice cream on top. I was a woman on a mission.

At the beginning of the mission however I had a thought. We did just have that awesome peanut butter pie. Maybe it was time for a change-up.

IMG_2265_edited-1

I made the brownie layer per Jen’s specifications in this 9″ cake pan. Between the cooking spray and the pan being non-stick to start with, it was actually a little difficult to spread the batter around. I got it mostly to the edges.

IMG_2266_edited-1

But instead of peanut butter chocolate chip, I went with classic chocolate chip instead. I made half the recipe of Alton Brown’s Chocolate Chip Cookies from I’m Just Here For More Food and hoped it would fit on top of the brownie batter.

IMG_2267_edited-1

And in fact, it spread out just perfectly – just the right amount. (Not that I would have been all that sad if there was a lot of extra dough and I had to make cookies. Alas.)

IMG_2268_edited-1

And there it is, fresh out of the oven – golden brown and delicious! It was pure torture waiting until after dinner to slice it up, rewarm and serve with a little homemade vanilla ice cream.

IMG_2273_edited-1

But the wait was so worth it. Note the shiny gooeyness indicating all that is good in this world. This is another plate-licking-good dessert and I recommend you do the same as soon as possible. (The same being bake this, eat it, and lick your plate.) And for all kinds of creative baking and decorating ideas, be sure to read My Kitchen Addiction and follow Jen on Twitter. Happy Valentine’s Day!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2011 9:24 am

    Ooh… I think your version looks even better than mine! Hope you and your hubby have a happy Valentine’s Day ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      February 14, 2011 7:57 pm

      Thank you, Jen! I am sure they were equally yummy. Happy Valentine’s Day to you too!

  2. February 14, 2011 11:36 am

    Oh my gosh, that looks heavenly. You can’t beat a dessert that’s two treats in one. I have a sweet treat linky party that will be going on at my blog until this evening and I’d like to invite you to stop by and link your dessert up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/02/sweets-for-saturday-4.html

  3. February 14, 2011 2:53 pm

    Peanut butter biscuits (cookies) are something I’ve heard of but never tried. We are being sparing with sweet stuff at the moment as we try and stick to the healthy eating plan but I must admit this looks very very tempting!

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      February 14, 2011 7:59 pm

      Never tried a PB cookie?? Wow. You should fix that. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. February 14, 2011 4:18 pm

    I can just taste this now! YUM! Brownies and cookies is always a good mix!

  5. February 14, 2011 4:39 pm

    Okay, hubby has just gone to the store to buy ingredients for this!

  6. February 15, 2011 3:21 pm

    You know… I really enjoy over-the-top desserts like this. All it needs is some caramel or chocolate sauce (do I dare say both?) and it’d really do me in!

    • February 15, 2011 7:31 pm

      I’d definitely go for the chocolate sauce and maybe some whipped cream too.

  7. February 16, 2011 10:35 am

    Honestly, I don’t know if I would even have the patience or willpower to cut and plate up a slice of this. I’d have to grab a spoon and just have at it.

Leave a comment