Skip to content

Valentine Cookies

February 9, 2011

This is another hybrid post – sort of a Wayback Wednesday, but with all new content for your reading pleasure! Those of you who have been following me since wayback will no doubt remember the infamous New Zealand Holly Cookies, also known as New South Wales Flower Cookies, North Carolina Holly Jam Bammers, and Namimbian Flowering Jammer Sandwiches.

closeup

Those cookies have been reincarnated as birthday cookies…

DSC00328

…and even as relentless negativity cookies.

Depending on your feelings towards Valentine’s Day, the above cookies might even fit the bill. Choose your design to suit your needs! But for the traditionalist how about this version… originally posted on Valley Victuals on February 12, 2006.

♪♪♪ Pink when I turn out the light, and
Pink gets me high as a kite ♪♪♪

Happy Valentine’s Day! I’ve retrofitted the infamous New Zealand Holly Cookies for another holiday.

DSC00318

Ta da! I guess now they are New England Heart Cookies, or some such thing. I used all raspberry jam and heart-shaped cookie cutters. I did a few with little cut-outs so the jam would peek out, but I was concerned they were too flimsy, and I wouldn’t be able to get enough icing on them. I guess I should have made more though, I think they turned out the prettiest.

DSC00320

I also tried my hand at more painting.

DSC00319

Awww, they’re cute, ain’t they?
And yeah, that frosting is a slightly garish pink. I knew that gel food colors were a lot stronger than the old fashioned liquids, I just didn’t know how much stronger. Yikes! Oh well…I bet Steven Tyler would still like them!
♪♪♪ And I think everything is going to be all right, all right, all right…♪♪♪

But it occurs to me that I never actually provided the full recipe that I use. The truth is you could use any sugar cookie you like, and any jam that you’d like, and your favorite icing that hardens up enough for painting. But in case you don’t have a bunch of favorites, here’s what I do.

Paintable All-Occasion Jam-Filled Sandwich Cookies

For the cookies:
2/3 cup room temperature butter
2 cups all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
3/4 cup sugar
1 egg
1 tablespoon milk
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon vanilla

For the filling:
Favorite jams, such as raspberry (seedless is good), strawberry, apricot or even lemon curd

For the icing:
1 cup powdered sugar
1/4 teaspoon vanilla
Milk or orange juice
Food color as desired

Preheat oven to 375. Beat butter with an electric mixer on medium speed until softened. Add half the flour, the cinnamon, egg, milk, baking powder and vanilla. Beat until combined. Beat in remaining flour. Divide dough in half, wrap in plastic and refrigerate at least 2 hours.

On a lightly floured surface, roll half of the dough at a time to about 1/8″ thick. Cut desired shapes making sure you have even quantities of all shapes. Place about 1/2″ – 1″ apart on ungreased cookie sheets. Bake 7 to 8 minutes or until just barely turning golden. Cool completely.

Spoon about 1/4 teaspoon of jam on one cookie and spread with the back of the spoon. Top with another cookie.

Make the icing – mix powdered sugar and vanilla. Start with 1 tablespoon of milk or orange juice and stir. Add more liquid 1 teaspoon at a time until icing is smooth and spreadable. Add food color if desired.

Carefully ice each cookie using a small spoon. Dry several hours or overnight if painting. Paint with food color pens, or with liquid food color diluted with a little water and a very fine paintbrush. Let dry before serving. If possible, do not stack cookies. Store in a single layer to avoid smearing.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2011 9:04 pm

    Okay, I loooove the sketch-y (not to be confused with sketchy) designs. They have that jotted-on-notebook-paper Napoleon Dynamite feel to them.

    I also have to steal your Relentless Negativity cookie idea. Hilarious.

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      February 9, 2011 9:10 pm

      They do kinda look like they were scribbled on a notebook!

      My good friend Jennifer B (aka Killer Coconut, occasional guest blogger) held a Relentless Negativity Film Festival around Valentine’s Day a couple years ago. I couldn’t resist making those cookies and those were probably my favorite version ever!

  2. vfiles permalink
    February 10, 2011 12:59 am

    LOVE the relentless negativity cookies! I think I will make those for my Grump. 😀

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      February 10, 2011 7:54 pm

      They might even make the Grump smile!

  3. February 10, 2011 8:36 am

    Bravo Jennifer. I have to agree with Ali that there’s a scribbled on your notebook cover feeling to the cookies…which is totally a compliment.

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      February 10, 2011 7:54 pm

      You guys are nice.

  4. February 10, 2011 4:21 pm

    I like the Pepto-Bismal pink cookies! Making any this weekend?

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      February 10, 2011 7:54 pm

      I just might! It’s been too long. Didn’t even make any for Christmas this year.

  5. patricia weldon permalink
    February 10, 2011 5:02 pm

    I love the pink cookies…hey…what about me?? I want one..:(

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      February 10, 2011 7:55 pm

      Maybe I should make you some for your birthday!

  6. February 14, 2011 9:25 am

    I’m not sure how I missed these last week, but they look fabulous! I love jam thumbprint cookies, but I love that you can decorate these, too. So cute!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Valentine Cookies « Bread & Putter -- Topsy.com

Leave a comment