Skip to content

Seen It All Before Sunday – Apple Bread

April 3, 2011

In the grand tradition of Wayback Wednesday, I give you Seen It All Before Sunday. Don’t worry – I’m not going to start recycling posts twice a week. However, I couldn’t help but think of this old post the other day. You’ll see why in my next post. The following originally appeared over at Valley Victuals on October 30, 2007.

Truth, Lies & Apple Bread
Renae & I got an email recently from Karen. She said she made this great apple bread, we should try it. A few days later, Karen & I got an email from Renae saying she made the apple bread, and it was great, and I should make it too. I finally got around to it last night.
The recipe got rave reviews on the site Karen found it on. Karen said she followed some of the suggestions in the reviews, such as using half brown sugar and half white, and added more cinnamon, so I did it that way too.
It starts out simply enough with 3 cups of peeled, chopped apples. I used four small Macouns.

Then, you take all this…

… and whisk it till it looks like this:

In a separate bowl, take all this…

…and whisk it till it looks like this:

Then, slowly mix it all together.

The mixture became very thick, and it took a little extra effort to mix the apple chunks in.

I scooped the batter into two loaf pans and placed them in my preheated 325 degree oven.

After an hour, I checked the loaves. I poked each one with a toothpick and it came out clean, so I took them out to cool.

They looked and smelled great. I left them in the pan to cool for 10 minutes.

They collapsed a little in the pans. I ran a knife around the edge and attempted to turn one out of the pan. And?

Disaster! Not only did it stick to the pan, but the center was still gooey. Lying toothpick!! I cranked the oven back up, this time to 350. I reassembled my fallen loaf, and put them both back in the oven for another 20 minutes. I used another toothpick and stabbed the little suckers all over, and as deep as possible. It came out clean and dry. What happened next might not have helped the situation. I forgot about them and let them cool for an hour in the pan. I tried to remove them then.

Messy, but at least not gooey. So, instead of loaves, I ended up with a heap of bready lumps.

And, it did taste good. It just didn’t look particularly good. I am guessing that the initial premature cooling period was the point of no return. Stinkin’ lying toothpick.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2011 9:41 pm

    I’m hoping that this post means that you actually made some successful apple bread recently! That stuff is so goooooooooooooood!

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      April 4, 2011 9:02 pm

      Nope, no apple bread for now. Although I am so crazy about this one pumpkin apple bread I have a hard time trying anything else now.

  2. April 4, 2011 8:16 am

    Girl, we’ve all been there at some time or another. Damn lying toothpicks.

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      April 4, 2011 9:02 pm

      Never trust a skinny cook or a skinny little piece of wood.

  3. April 4, 2011 11:04 am

    Hey, as long as it tasted good (even in a pile of crumbly bits) that’s good enough for me. Although that toothpick still needs to be burned at the stake.

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      April 4, 2011 9:04 pm

      Seriously, man. I gotta start getting my nerdy Alton Brown side back on and start using my probe thermometer on baked goods. This low tech just isn’t working for me.

  4. patricia weldon permalink
    April 4, 2011 8:10 pm

    Oh yeah….been there more time than I want to admit!

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      April 4, 2011 9:04 pm

      Isn’t it frustrating? And I don’t think there is really a way back once you discover what happened. Clearly, re-baking wasn’t the answer!

Leave a Reply

