Skip to content

Cheesecake Power!

March 22, 2011

Ever since Colossus came into my life, I’m all about revving up the power in the kitchen. It still blows my mind when I stuff a bunch of veggies or a hunk of meat down the chute and in seconds – shreds! Slices! Bits! Cool!! But Colossus is capable of more than just destruction.

IMG_2386

In fact, Colossus can give my old pal KitchenAid Stand Mixer a run for its money. In fact, as much as I adore my stand mixer, I have to give Colossus the edge for whipping up cream cheese for a cheesecake. A few pulses and shazaam!!! Smooth, no lumps!! Gotta love that.

IMG_2388

But that’s okay Mr. KitchenAid. There’s room for you in this cheesecake too. I whipped up the egg whites in my nice clean mixer bowl which was a delight. Two power tools means no tranferring stuff to different bowls and washing out the mixer bowl in between. Woot! More power!

IMG_2389

Colossus also of course made quick work of the graham cracker crumbs for the crust and those nesting bowls were rather handy for that. (My springform pan leaks so I lined the inside with foil. I don’t recommend this necessarily – I think it made the cake take a lot longer than it should have to bake. I’ve read that a little foil on the outside of the pan instead though would do. Next time!)

IMG_2392

The cracks here are not a bad thing. In fact, that’s the indicator that it is time to spread the sour cream mixture on top for the last few minutes of baking.

IMG_2393

Waiting for the cooling and the chilling of cheesecake is torture. Here’s my technique for getting through it. Make the cake in the afternoon. Go out to dinner someplace really good. Eat dessert. Come home full. Feel better about waiting till the next day to dig in.

IMG_2401

Feel free to skip the part where you take a really crappy picture of the final product in your haste.

This recipe was adapted from the booklet that came with Colossus and a recipe in the Bon Appetit Desserts cookbook.

Strawberry Cheesecake with Power Tools
For the crust:
1 sleeve graham crackers
2 tablespoons sugar
3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
For the cake:
3 8-ounce packages cream cheese, room temperature
1-1/4 cups sugar, divided
1-1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract, divided
4 large egg whites
2 cups sour cream
For the topping:
1 quart strawberries, fresh or frozen
½ cup sugar
1 tablespoon rum

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Break up the crackers and process them in a food processor until chopped fine. Add the sugar and butter and process again until thoroughly combined. Press the mixture into the bottom of a springform pan and part way up the sides.
Put the cream cheese in the food processor and whiz it up till smooth. Add 1 cup of sugar and a teaspoon of the vanilla and process again to combine.
Using an electric mixer, beat the egg whites until nearly stiff. Add the egg whites to the cream cheese mixture in the food processor and pulse just enough to combine. Pour batter into prepared pan. Bake for 35 minutes or more – until the center is nearly set.
Combine sour cream, remaining sugar & vanilla in a small bowl & mix until blended. Remove cake from oven and carefully spread with sour cream mixture. Return to oven and bake another 5 – 10 minutes.
Cool completely. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight.
Place strawberries and ½ cup water in a sauce pan. Bring to a boil. Add sugar and stir. Reduce heat to a simmer and cook until thickened. Remove from heat, add rum and stir. Allow to cool and then chill.
To serve, run a knife around the edge of the cake and remove the pan sides. Slice and top with a generous helping of the strawberry mixture.

Power to the PDF Printable Recipe

13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2011 4:16 am

    Yet* another* reminder that I need to get a KitchenAid and find some way to fit it into my minuscule kitchen 🙂 Oh YUM, your cheesecake looks good!

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      March 23, 2011 10:55 am

      I’m starting to think the food processor could almost do the work of both so if it is between one or the other, I think I might choose a really big food processor. Mine even has a special dough blade.

  2. March 23, 2011 8:32 am

    Can it be made with Razzberries?

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      March 23, 2011 10:56 am

      Scott, I am certain that would be just as good. Aren’t you glad WordPress finally sorted itself out last night?

      • March 24, 2011 4:23 pm

        I don’t know about using RAZZberries – or whatever it was the Cowboy was sending along! 😉

  3. March 23, 2011 9:56 am

    that’s really interesting, i’ve never lined my spring foam pan with foil INSIDE, it’s always been the outside. also to combat leaking, i try to spread the graham crust to go up the sides of the pan. and for cracking, i do a waterbath type thing… i leave a pan full of hot water on the rack BELOW.

    and your Colossus is amazing. mr. kitchenaid has competition!

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      March 23, 2011 10:58 am

      Yeah, I don’t know what I was thinking with lining the inside. Kind of defeats the purpose of the springform, I guess. I specifically chose this recipe because it doesn’t call for a waterbath and I am afraid of the leaking, but that sounds brilliant putting it a rack below! Or I should say this half of the recipe – that part of it came from the Bon Appetit book.

  4. March 23, 2011 10:07 am

    “Strawberry Cheesecake with Power Tools”

    Hahaha…awesome. I need to get me a Colossus. The mix-wash-mix-again bowl routine is getting really old.

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      March 23, 2011 11:00 am

      And it didn’t even occur to me until it was happening – the egg whites were in the stand mixer and the cream cheese was still in the food processor – and then I was like, oh, hey, wow! I don’t have to stop and wash!!!

  5. March 24, 2011 4:45 pm

    Oh yummy!! I LOOOOOOOOVE Cheesecake!! Will you come to my house and bake me one? Don’t forget the kitchenaid, all I have is a dumb little hand mixer 😉

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      March 24, 2011 6:31 pm

      Have food processor and stand mixer, will travel! 😉

  6. March 24, 2011 8:04 pm

    Hi, Jennifer! I think we may have inadvertently met through Karma’s email the other night. I am the one who wanted the cheesecake. It looks really really good! Nice to meet you, Kathy

  7. March 25, 2011 8:30 pm

    Ooh yummy! I will definitely try out this recipe. I have the pink kitchenaid…but have often wondered if getting the processor was worth the investment…it sounds like it is!

Leave a Reply

