Skip to content

Photo Challenge – I’m Ready for my Close-up!

March 20, 2011

Before I get started I’d like to apologize to any subscribers who got a post from me that just said ””’. That was from the cat. She managed to step on my keyboard just as I walked away from it and not only type that in the title box, but she also managed to hit “publish.” I don’t get it. Maybe she has blogging aspirations.

And now to the challenge! I’m actually a couple days early for a change instead of sliding in at the very last second. So, there’s still time if you’d like to get in on the fun. This time Scott’s challenge at Views Infinitum is Close Up Photography. Last weekend my sister and I were lucky enough to get to the Smith College Spring Bulb Show and we both had the challenge in mind. You can see the her results here, which are pretty awesome with her cool DSLR and extension tubes. I thought my little point-and-shoot really wasn’t too shabby though. Oh, and Scott wanted us to say how we photographed our close ups so here’s my fancy formula – I pressed the macro button. ๐Ÿ™‚

Okay, okay – I also set it to Aperture Priority at 2.8, and the exposure mode to either Sunny or Cloudy. Ta-da!

IMG_2456_edited-1

I love these little grape hyacinth, but I can get closer!

IMG_2445_edited-1

But maybe not too close to that one. It looks like it might bite.

IMG_2443

Speaking of biting, doesn’t that one look like a cat head in the middle there? And yes, biting and cat heads are a valid word association. My little blogging feline friend is also a little biter. I think she means it affectionately.ย  Or maybe she’s just trying to get some time in on the computer.ย 

IMG_2432_edited-1

Hey, these little guys are fuzzy like a cat!

IMG_2430_edited-1

I like this one. Dramatic colors!

IMG_2414_edited-1

But I think this last one is my favorite. I love the colors and the soft ruffly edges.

Happy Spring!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2011 3:52 pm

    See, there was more to it than just putting it in Macro mode. Not to mention the decisions you made behind the camera as to what to photograph and any post processing (including cropping) you might had done afterward.

    I’ll save my other comments for the next week’s recap.

  2. March 21, 2011 7:45 pm

    Hey did you see that little hair sticking out on the last shot? I just tried to wipe it off my computer screen!
    I saw your cat head too – pretty cool.
    I like the 2nd one best – the composition is pretty and the center part of the flower jumps out at you.

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      March 21, 2011 8:07 pm

      Awww, man! No, I actually didn’t see that. Darn it. And that really was my favorite. Now I can’t un-see the hair. Oh well.

      Thanks on the second one though!

      • March 22, 2011 4:45 pm

        If you want to send me a copy of it, I could clone that out for you.

        • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
          March 22, 2011 9:16 pm

          I did it, I did it! I cloned it out myself. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. March 22, 2011 2:03 pm

    That cat head photo is too cool. It almost looks like some sort of cat/eagle hybrid. Gorgeous pics, Jennifer. I wish I could keep flowers in the house but I, too, have a biter at home.

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      March 22, 2011 9:17 pm

      Thanks, Ali! I only have two houseplants and they are hanging up high out of the biter’s reach.

  4. March 23, 2011 6:24 am

    How nice to have a blogging cat, why not give it his/her own blog? A daily keyboard-walk. Iยดm sure it will become a success! Your photos are very nice, I think the last one is my favorite too. Lovely color.

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      March 24, 2011 6:33 pm

      Thank you Giiid! Maybe it’s like that million monkeys on a million typewriters for a million years eventually coming up with Shakespeare sort of thing? If the cat walks across the keyboard enough times maybe she’ll come up with a brilliant recipe for kibble!

  5. March 24, 2011 3:22 am

    I agree in the beauty of the last photo. But my favourite is the one just above. I like the contrast colors and the light. I would like to see it with focus on the tip of the stigma.

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      March 24, 2011 6:34 pm

      Thank you, Carsten. I agree, that one would have been better with the focus on the stigma. I’ll have to hope for better luck next year.

  6. March 24, 2011 1:18 pm

    I actually see a bat in the ‘cat’ shot – complete with wings!

    You certainly had a good time shooting these…that is evident! Nicely done!

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      March 24, 2011 6:35 pm

      Oh my goodness… bats! I see it too. But I prefer cats so I am going to continue to look for the cat head. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thank you – nothing like a bit of spring when you can barely take winter one more day!

  7. March 24, 2011 4:55 pm

    These are beautiful! I’ve never seen pale blue grape hiacynths before, all we have around here are the dark blue ones. Love the last one, too, what a pretty tulip!

    I scrolled through the latest few pages of your blog, and I’m sooo hungry now… and it’s still two hours until dinner!

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      March 24, 2011 6:36 pm

      They have such unusual bulbs at this show that I’ve never seen any where else.

      Sorry about making you hungry… but I’ll take it as a compliment! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. March 25, 2011 9:45 pm

    You are right that one did look like a cat’s head, but a cat with wings. All are good!

    Mary W.

Trackbacks

  1. Assignment 12 Recap | Views Infinitum

Leave a Reply

