Skip to content

Effin’ Good Cookies

March 2, 2011

I usually try to keep things fairly clean around here but these cookies have pushed things over the edge. It all started innocently enough. March 1st apparently was one of those randomly assigned food holidays, particularly Peanut Butter Lovers’ Day. Which sounds like a good day to me, but I didn’t set out to celebrate it in a specific way. But then everyone started tweeting all day about peanut butter and sending links to their peanut butter recipes and I couldn’t get it off my mind. So when I got home, I decided to bake up something with peanut butter and thought it was high time I tried something out of one of my newer cookbooks, the Scharffen Berger book or the Bon Appetit Desserts book. I flipped through Bon Appetit and saw a few things that sounded good but complicated. So I peeked in Scharffen Berger and that’s when I saw these.

P B & C Cookies. It doesn’t sound earth shattering, does it?

I had all the ingredients I needed. Well, mostly. Shhhh – don’t tell Scharffen Berger, but I only had Hershey’s unsweetened chocolate and I only had about half of the 62% Scharffen Berger Semi-Sweet needed so I made up the rest with 60% Semi-Sweet Ghiradelli. Oh, and I had light brown sugar instead of dark. And salted butter instead of unsalted. Instead of 12 big cookies, I made about 20 medium cookies. Other than that they were just the same! Ahem. (And my peanut butter wasn’t all natural, but it was crunchy!)

IMG_2354_edited-1

I waited as they cooled and they sure did look good, although they never did crack on top like the recipe said they might. My first taste – oh my. Excellent. I walked away and let them cool and went to do some laundry and told my husband the cookies were ready if he wanted some.

Later when I came back to the kitchen, my husband came in to the kitchen to take another cookie and said, “These cookies are f&%$ing awesome and you should make them ALL THE TIME.”

This is a guy who isn’t often inspired to say much about desserts unless I prompt him. Especially not a cookie. Maybe that flourless chocolate cake, or even that layered cookie brownie thing. But just a cookie? Usually the best I get is, “these are pretty good.”

That’s how good they are. I tried to take some decent pictures of them last night but they just didn’t do them justice. So, this morning there was an early morning photo shoot before good in natural light so you could gaze upon all that is good in this world in the form of this effing good cookie.

IMG_2362

Then tonight after we settled in to eat a few more my husband again reiterated the awesomeness and said, “Seriously. You need to make these all the time. None of those other… things you make.”

He’s so spoiled. But they are that good. Go ahead – spoil yourself!

IMG_2364

13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2011 9:52 pm

    Look at those scrumptious cookies! They look crispy and peanutty and yum!

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      March 2, 2011 9:53 pm

      Nancy, if you can adapt these to be gluten free I know a lot of people who would be oh so happy!

  2. March 3, 2011 8:04 am

    Jennifer, I’ve never had a cookie inspire swearing. Those must be some powerful cookies.

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      March 3, 2011 8:39 pm

      It’s a rare thing indeed. I suggest you try it immediately and let me know your results. You know, like for science.

  3. March 3, 2011 10:28 am

    When it comes to homemade sweets, we can always count on our husbands to be the most honest critics.

    I hope you ate those for breakfast after the photo shoot.

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      March 3, 2011 8:38 pm

      Ali, I expected profanity from you. I’m disappointed. But happy you commented anyway.
      🙂

  4. March 3, 2011 1:33 pm

    Peanut butter is a good source of protein so these are effing good for you too! (*cough*)

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      March 3, 2011 8:38 pm

      I like the way you effing think, caryl!

  5. March 3, 2011 7:52 pm

    F*#@ing good cookies??? I’m in!!! Sound awesome.

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      March 3, 2011 8:40 pm

      You are someone in particular who I think would really, really, really like these. Do it. You won’t be f$&%ing disappointed.

  6. March 4, 2011 8:46 pm

    These do look ridiculously good! Perhaps I can try them with SunButter…yum.

  7. Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
    March 4, 2011 8:50 pm

    I keep meaning to check out that SunButter – it sounds tasty. Do they make crunchy?

  8. March 13, 2011 4:40 pm

    Effing good cookies are in the effing oven right now. Can’t effing wait to try them!

Leave a Reply

