Skip to content

Wayback Wednesday – Rice Pilaf

January 19, 2011

Today we are going waaaay back to 2005, way, way back when most of the time I didn’t even have pictures on the blog!  This is a quick and simple post with a reference to a silly web error that no longer exists.  (and apparently it still seemed like a good idea to hyperlink the word “googled” so people knew what it meant!) But the recipe is timeless. It’s rice pilaf, the way my Armenian mother-in-law taught me to make it.  It’s easy, it’s delicious and requires no special equipment. You’ll see it in the background of many of my pictures when I am blogging about a main course because I make it all the time. And you should too! This was originally posted on March 16, 2005 on Valley Victuals – pictures added today.

IMG_1930

See the pilaf in the top right corner?

I googled Uncle Ben’s the other day and was very amused by the description under the first hit:

Uncle Ben’s | Rice, Recipes & Meal Solutions

Manufacturer of 10 varieties of frozen rice bowels.

http://www.unclebens.com/ – 46k – Mar 14, 2005 – Cached – Similar pages

Mmmmm! Rice bowels! I wonder if Uncle Ben’s has a lot of movement with that product.

IMG_1728_edited-1

More pilaf, 12 o'clock!

As you ponder that, I offer this – my Armenian mother-in-law’s authentic never-sticky rice pilaf recipe:

Rice Pilaf

1 cup plain white converted rice – like Uncle Ben’s in the orange packaging. Not quick or minute rice

1 can chicken broth + 1 can water

1/4 cup orzo or broken up spaghetti

2-3 tbls butter (okay, this part isn’t authentic. She uses half a stick of butter. I have found that less works just as well.)

Melt the butter in a saucepan over medium-high heat. Add the orzo and cook until browned. Add the rice and stir to completely coat the rice with the butter. Add the broth and water and a pinch of salt & pepper. Cover and bring to a boil. Keep covered and reduce heat to very low. Do not stir! Simmer until all of the liquid is absorbed, about 30 minutes or more. No stirring! Seriously. Get that spoon out of there. After the all of the liquid is absorbed, fluff with a fork and serve. Makes 4-5 servings.

All that typing just tired me out. I’m pooped.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2011 8:12 am

    I still have the original link to this post saved in my favorites – actually it is the one to Mary’s Armenian Legacy, which links to it- from before I had this recipe memorized! I do check it from time to time to make sure I didn’t forget anything. (2 hour delay this morning for virtually everyone but Wilb! Gives me time to do a little reading this morning)

  2. Anne permalink
    January 19, 2011 11:29 am

    pooped from the rice bowels? Kenny has mastered this recipe quite well and we enjoy it often. Thanks for sharing!

  3. patricia weldon permalink
    January 19, 2011 5:20 pm

    I make this recipe. I love it! I have to admit that when I am tired I make Near East, which is stupid because Mary’s rice is just as easy.

  4. January 19, 2011 9:16 pm

    I just told my husband the other day how I need to actually look up a rice pilaf recipe. Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

