Skip to content

Gumbo – Variation on a Theme

December 28, 2010

When I saw this recipe on Three Many Cooks for Shrimp Gumbo the first thing I thought was hey, I have a pound of kielbasa in the freezer from the CSA. Then I thought about how my husband doesn’t really like shrimp much. But, isn’t gumbo sometimes made with other fish? I did a little googling and found almost as many different recipes are there are fish in the sea. So, I decided to just see what looked good in the seafood department and came home with some halibut.

Next I considered the chicken. I had leftover turkey meat & bones in the freezer from Thanksgiving, couldn’t I use that instead? A little more googling and sure, why not? I found lots of gumbo recipes made with turkey instead of chicken. Turkey it is!

IMG_1829

I simmered the leftover bones while I worked on the roux. I’ve only ever made simple, quick roux with butter and flour for gravy and thickening sauces – never a deeply colored roux like this that is all about adding flavor. It wasn’t that hard though – it just takes a little patience.

IMG_1831

This is not dark enough.

IMG_1832

This is getting there. Kinda looks like peanut butter!

IMG_1833

And this is just a little bit darker and the last picture I took before I pulled it off the heat. While the roux was roux-ing, I also had my veggies sauteeing and at some point I lost my head and dumped in my turkey broth before I added the roux. I do not recommend this reversal of steps because as it turns out, roux bubbles and pops when poured into hot liquid like fresh newt added to a witch’s cauldron, or at least as I would imagine it might. Once everything settled down, I added the kielbasa, tomatoes and turkey meat and just had to taste it before I let it simmer and it was already rich and delicious.

IMG_1834

The fish went in near the end of the cooking time, cut into small cubes and cooked through right in the broth.

I made some rice with some leftover broth and served the gumbo over it the first time around and it was good. But what was even better was the leftovers! I mixed the leftover rice into the pot of gumbo and stored it in the fridge, and the next day served as a soup it was amazing. It’s the rich broth with the roux that really makes this dish. A bowl or cup is the correct vessel – not a plate. And a little skillet cornbread on the side doesn’t hurt either.

IMG_1915_edited-1

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Andrea permalink
    December 28, 2010 2:17 am

    Looks delicious! I knew Larry was a cool guy — I don’t like shrimp either!!! So, most restaurant gumbos are out for me. I have to make my own too.

  2. December 28, 2010 1:48 pm

    Looks tasty. I already made soup again with my leftovers. This looks like something my hubby would go for if I left out the fish completely.

  3. January 1, 2011 6:47 am

    Making gumbo is a good idea to deal with the leftover food. It looks delicious too.

Leave a Reply

