Skip to content

More One Dish Wonders

November 9, 2010

I’m still enjoying Pam “Not *that* Pam Anderson” Anderson’s great new cookbook, Perfect One Dish Dinners and I thought I’d share two more lovely dishes I made from its pages here.

First up was the Braised Lamb Shanks, which Pam has called her favorite recipe in the book. This is one of the things I am loving about having joined a meat CSA. I had never eaten or prepared lamb shanks before and I may never have gone out of my way to find them, even if I did see a pretty picture in a cookbook. But with the CSA, I receive whatever cuts of meat they are sending that month and it forces me to get creative and try new things. And, with Pam’s book by my side, I felt brave! Everything else I had tried so far was wonderful so I had no doubt this one would be lovely too.

IMG_1677_edited-1

This was also another chance for me to use my fabulous new Dutch oven, yay! And who doesn’t love a nice braise this time of year? Although I have to admit, I was concerned my husband wouldn’t like it. You see, even though he was the one who turned me on to lamb in the first place, mostly from the kebab at the Armenian picnics, as it turns out, now I seem to be a bigger lamb fan than he is. He seems to mostly take issue with ground lamb, but lamb shanks are pretty far removed from that so I hoped it would be okay.

And indeed, it was! The lamb was delicious, although at times a bit tricky to separate the meat from the bone from the fat. (Which is okay by me though, because trickier, slightly messier meals like this are a good excuse for me to get him to sit at the table in a proper, civilized manner.) The best part though had to be the sauce that develops as it cooks. We both couldn’t get enough of it and we were very happy that I had made bread to sop it up with. Even though there was no lamb left when we were done, we couldn’t bear to toss the rest of the sauce, vegetables and beans. So, we saved it and ate just that for lunch the next day with more bread. It was so rich and savory!

IMG_1678_edited-1

That same weekend, I also assembled the Chicken Pot Pie with Green Apples and Cheddar Biscuits. The recipe said it made one large pie or two small ones, so filled two 8 x 8 aluminum pans to freeze.

IMG_1676_edited-1

I loved the unusual combination of flavors here. Or, should I say, they sounded unusual but actually went together fabulously. Apples and leeks should always be together! I’m imagining the possibilities right now. Apple & leek frittata? Maybe an apple & leek quick bread? Or a sweet and savory soup. I didn’t have any green apples, so I substituted some Macouns, which worked out just fine.

IMG_1674_edited-1

The sauce was easy to prepare and smelled wonderful and fall-like with the addition of sage. The cheddar biscuits on top are just a little bit of genius, really – cheddar and apples are a classic combination, of course. It was difficult to wrap them up and freeze them for another day rather than baking them up right that minute!

IMG_1703_edited-1

(Please forgive me, oh Internet gods and patron saints of food blogging! There is no daylight when I am home during the week these days so I *gasp!* took this photo with artificial light. Mon dieu!! Shield your eyes.)

Opportunity presented itself a few days later when I was going to be late getting home after an appointment. My husband could just pop it into the oven and we’d have a great, easy and hot dinner. And oh, my – it delivered! Look at that cheddar toasted goodness atop the creamy, satisfying chicken, apples and leeks.

IMG_1704_edited-1

Two more hits from Perfect One Dish Dinners! I can’t wait to try more.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2010 1:14 pm

    Jennifer, that chicken pot pie is my favorite recipe in the book, without question. And yes, apples and leeks definitely belong together.

    I’m thinking of doing posts without photos until spring because there’s no light when I get home. Ok, not really, but I wish I could.

    • November 10, 2010 12:49 am

      I say let’s buck convention and post hideous photos all winter, completely blown out by flash. Just keepin’ it real in the northeast! 😉

      • November 10, 2010 12:57 pm

        I don’t think I will have any choice but to post hideous photos. I doubt even photoshop can save them.

  2. LeighG permalink
    November 9, 2010 9:21 pm

    What a yummy sounding combination of the apples and leeks! Both recipes sound like something both of us would love! I may have to find that cookbook! Now the lamb shanks, did that cut of lamb taste gamey?

    • November 10, 2010 12:52 am

      Leigh, the link at the top with the name of the book will take you to the Amazon page to order it. I really highly recommend it. Now I want more of Pam’s books!

      I did not find the lamb gamey at all. I personally think that American lamb is less gamey tasting than the Australian and New Zealand stuff. Plus, this is all the nice grass fed stuff from the CSA which, to me, all tastes great.

  3. November 9, 2010 9:41 pm

    Throw cheddar biscuits in to a recipe and I am in! Ooo-wee that looks delush!
    (No sparks of excitement for lamb and beans, however – sorry! 😉 )

    • November 10, 2010 12:53 am

      I already experimented a few times topping pot pies with biscuits instead of pie crust and liked it, but I tell you the cheddar? Brilliant!!

  4. November 14, 2010 5:21 pm

    Those both sound really good. I especially love the sound of the potpie, ESPECIALLY since it can be frozen ahead of time!

Leave a Reply

