Skip to content

Chocolate Almond Biscotti

November 3, 2010

Recently and seemingly out of nowhere, my husband asked me to make biscotti. I’d never made it before and it isn’t something we buy all the time or anything. I still don’t know what made him think of it. And to make it a little weirder, we don’t even drink coffee. Yeah, I said it.

We don’t drink it. I don’t like it. He likes it, but it doesn’t like his tummy. Of course, one could certainly dip one’s biscotti in tea or milk. And I’m always looking for a new baking challenge so biscotti it was, coffee or no coffee!

I browsed recipes until I found one I had most of the main ingredients for and that just sounded good to me – Emeril’s Dried Cherry and Chocolate Biscotti.  I didn’t have dried cherries so I used a mix of dried cranberries and golden raisins.

IMG_1653_edited-1

It was actually pretty fun and easy to make, which makes me wonder why I don’t make biscotti all the time. For some reason, I had it in my head that it was difficult – you have to bake them twice after all!! But all you do is roll the dough into a big loaf like above and bake for half an hour or so. The recipe says until “golden”, but I have to say that’s a bit difficult to ascertain when the dough is already brown.

IMG_1654_edited-1

After it cooled a bit and I started to slice, I thought I ascertained well enough, although some of the middle slices were still a bit moist.

IMG_1656_edited-1

Here are my slices, ready to go back into the oven, and you can see quite a few of them with the darker spots in the middle that were a bit undercooked. But they were going back in the oven for another 12 to 14 minutes or “until golden.” Still sticking with that golden thing are you, Mr. Recipe?? Not helpful.

IMG_1659

Ah, well, golden or not, the final product was not too shabby for my first try. My husband liked them, although he unhelpfully said that he really only wanted them when he was drinking coffee, which he never drinks. Huh. I ate them plain, no dunking in anything and I liked them just fine! The liquid in that cup may or may not be a prop. It may or may not actually be diluted red wine from a box. You never know around here. But it sure makes a pretty picture, doesn’t it? And if it makes you want to make biscotti, all the better! It’s easier than you think.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2010 12:36 pm

    Wait, no coffee? None? I suppose your other lovely qualities can make up for that.

    Nice job on the biscotti, even if you do serve it up with a boxed red.

    • November 4, 2010 12:53 am

      Thanks, Wendi! I’ve tried – I don’t even like coffee-flavored things. Not even tiramisu.

  2. November 3, 2010 12:56 pm

    First of all, I would like a bucket full of these to dunk (coffee for me). Second, we have the same dishes. I knew I liked you.

  3. November 3, 2010 5:14 pm

    Looks delicious! and yeah, I dunk em in coffee.

    How do you get through the day without coffee? What keeps you awake? lol

    • November 4, 2010 12:55 am

      I do have one cup of non-decaf green tea each morning. But that’s it. Somehow I function!

  4. November 3, 2010 5:55 pm

    @caryl: Hee, hee! You should see my sister on caffeine! It is such a rare occasion, I think she vibrates! 😉

    I have made biscotti and you are right, they aren’t so difficult and quite nice for a little snack. I even made the same type (chocolate cherry, though I can’t remember if it was Emeril’s) and I substituted dried cranberries also (but cherry flavored ones) ! I should make them again – thanks for the idea.

    • November 4, 2010 12:56 am

      Every now and then I throw caution to the wind and drink lots and lots high-test iced tea and I pay for it 4 hours later when I am bouncing off the walls!

Leave a Reply

