Skip to content

Cape Cod, Lobster and a Present

October 20, 2010

Last weekend I traveled to ol’ Cape Cod to visit my mother and for a belated celebration of my birthday.  We started out with lunch at a Cape Cod mainstay, Clancy’s.  I had these adorable lobster sliders:

IMG_1600

Look how chunky!  I also had some thick, creamy clam chowder and the fries weren’t too bad either.  My mother, sister and nieces were slightly less thrilled with their meals, unfortunately but at least we had a great view!

IMG_1601

We were treated to some sunny fair weather but with a lot of wind.  We enoyed the beach in our sweatshirts and took shelter in the Christmas Tree Shops!  Later, we celebrated my birthday with pizza from Ardeo and awesome cupcakes from somewhere I already forgot the name of.  I was probably distracted by my shiny new gift from my mother:

IMG_1639

A sunny yellow lid! 

And I got the sunny yellow 6 quart enameled cast iron Dutch oven to go with it.  Wheeee!!  When I got home, I saw this recipe for Chicken Cacciatore on The Pioneer Woman, made in a Dutch oven.  I hadn’t done my usual weekend grocery shopping yet, so I ran right out on Monday and bought the ingredients and made the dish for dinner with my new toy.

IMG_1638

Usually, I’m not even a big fan of lots and lots of bell peppers in one recipe but since the stars aligned and the right planets were in retrograde and the chicken thighs were buy one, get one free at Big Y, I went for it anyway.

IMG_1640

Mainly, I was just really excited to brown something on the stovetop and not have to transfer it to an oven-safe casserole to braise.  But somehow between the onions, wine, tomatoes, mushrooms, garlic, chicken and spices, all those peppers really didn’t bother me at all.  And look how pretty and colorful on the plate:

IMG_1642

Lovely!  Thank you again to my mother for a great weekend and for this great kichen tool.  What is your favorite meal to cook in a Dutch oven?  ‘Tis the season, so let me know what you are looking forward to stewing or braising in the coming  months.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2010 2:12 am

    Oh, I’m jealous of your dutch oven! I’ve always wanted one of those…

  2. October 20, 2010 2:12 am

    And happy birthday!

    • October 21, 2010 12:11 am

      Thank you! It was actually back in September but I didn’t get a chance to see my mother till now.

  3. Greg permalink
    October 20, 2010 12:14 pm

    Ardeo’s is great! My parents have a house around the corner and we go there all the time. Great homemade hummus!

    • October 21, 2010 12:11 am

      Yes, I love it there! We usually go there or get take out each time I visit.

  4. October 20, 2010 12:58 pm

    That’s a great birthday present. I hope you’ll get many, many years of enjoyment from using it. Happy belated b’day!

    • October 21, 2010 12:12 am

      Thanks, Wendi! I’m already dreaming of beef bourgiononne, or however you spell that. 😉

  5. October 20, 2010 2:15 pm

    Lobster sliders and creamy clam chowder…ah, what was in the rest of the post? 😉

  6. October 20, 2010 4:35 pm

    Would love to share a dutch oven recipe but you know me- completely incompetent in the kitchen. Yours is very pretty! Great looking meal you made with it, too.

  7. patricia weldon permalink
    October 20, 2010 8:25 pm

    You are very welcome! I know you will have fun trying all your new and some old recipes with it. The weekend was way to short!

  8. patricia weldon permalink
    October 20, 2010 8:27 pm

    ooops…bad usage of “to” in to short.

  9. October 21, 2010 12:32 am

    Those sliders look awesome, never had them! The scenery there is just beautiful!

  10. October 21, 2010 1:52 am

    I think I know why I was less than thrilled with my meal – I took a chance on having cod, even though I know I don’t really prefer it. I always prefer haddock. No biggie. And the cupcakes were awesome! Ooh, and your forgot to mention the Hot Chocolate Sparrow!
    http://www.hotchocolatesparrow.com/

    (Psst… how do you make a hyperlink out of your text when you leave a comment?)

  11. October 24, 2010 4:15 pm

    Pot roast! Or it would be if I HAD a duch oven. 😦 Although I guess I could do chicken curry in it too, and then THAT would be my favorite!

  12. LeighG permalink
    October 25, 2010 6:00 am

    What an awful friend I am… I didn’t even wish you a happy birthday on your day!!! I’m so sorry!! Happy Belated Birthday Jen from your loser friend!

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      October 25, 2010 12:22 pm

      You didn’t? Really, are you sure?? My birthday was actually a long time ago – back at the beginning of September. You probably said happy birthday through FB or something.

Trackbacks

  1. The Rhythm of Repetition – Picture Fall, day 23 « Karma's When I Feel Like It Blog

Leave a Reply

