Skip to content

Review, Part Two: Desserts 4 Today

October 14, 2010

And now, back to the review!  I am still just loving Desserts 4 Today. Not only are the recipes easy, accessible and made with high quality ingredients, they make small, manageable quantities so you can even indulge when you are short on time on a weeknight.

I took a break from my cookie frenzy to make Banana Caramel Frozen Yogurt, and because I didn’t actually have any caramel, I came up with my own switch-in and swirled in some Nutella instead.  I was a little concerned after I churned it and before I fully froze it because it actually tasted a little too banana-y, if that sounds possible.  I used some frozen super ripe bananas I had in the fridge and I think these specimens may have been just slightly past ripe.  But, after fully freezing, the fro-yo was saved!  The banana-y-ness (I’m switching in and making up words with wild abandon here) was couched a bit during freezing and of course the Nutella was a lovely complement. 

IMG_1459_edited-1

Next up is the internet sensation, Nutella Brownie Bites.  Not only are they adorable, this is the easiest recipe I’ve tried so far.  As it turns out, whisking Nutella with an egg and a little flour is way easier than it sounds.  It smoothes out and comes together into a batter in no time. 

IMG_1420

Mine seemed a little too gooey at first and I baked them a little longer than called for, and then again a little longer than that and then I think I over-baked them a bit.  But it didn’t matter!!  They puffed up a little and were adorable!  I didn’t have any hazelnuts, so I topped them instead with chopped Blue Diamond vanilla flavor almonds.  Yum.

IMG_1426_edited-1

So easy and so pop-in-your-mouth-able!

And last, but certainly not least, cheesecake!!  Yes, cheesecake with only 4 ingredients.  There’s no crust, but that’s okay – it’s the creamy cheesy part that’s the best anyway, right?  The recipe is called Mini Bittersweet Chocolate Cheesecakes and they are made in muffin cups for individual servings.  They are adorable and if anything, maybe just a bit too tiny – I know I wanted to eat more than one!

IMG_1553_edited-1

My chocolate drizzling skills need a little work, but aren’t they pretty anyway?

IMG_1549_edited-1

In case you missed it in my previous post, here is the link to buy Desserts 4 Today on Amazon.com.  I know a lot of people on my Christmas list who would probably enjoy it too!  Also make sure you check out Abby’s website for more recipes and follow her on Twitter because she is also pretty darn funny.  As promised, here’s the recipe for the cheesecakes – thanks, Abby!

Mini Bittersweet Chocolate Cheesecakes
Courtesy of Abigail Johnson Dodge

Cream Cheese – one 8-ounce package, at room temperature
Granulated Sugar – 1/2 cup
Chocolate (bittersweet or semisweet) – 4 ounces, chopped, divided and melted
Large Egg – 1

1. Heat the oven to 300 F. Line 6 standard muffin tins with foil liners and lightly grease with cooking spray.

2. Put the cream cheese in a medium bowl. Beat with an electric mixer on medium speed until very smooth, about 2 minutes.

3. Add the sugar and 3 ounces of the melted chocolate. Beat on medium-low speed until well blended, about 1 minute. Add the egg and mix until just incorporated.

4. Spoon the batter into the muffin cups. Bake until the centers of the cheesecakes barely jiggle when nudged, 15 to 18 minutes. Set the muffin tin on a rack to cool completely. Cover and refrigerate until ready to serve or for up to 3 days (or freeze for up to 1 month). Just before serving, drizzle with the remaining 1 ounce of melted chocolate (rewarmed, if needed.)

Serves 6

(Note: I received a free copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of reviewing.  The opinions expressed here are my own and I was not compensated beyond the book itself. )

4 Comments leave one →
  1. james dinsmore permalink
    October 14, 2010 11:54 am

    jennifer, those desserts are mouth-watering, how isnt larry chubby?? lol

  2. October 14, 2010 1:18 pm

    Jennifer, I agree that the smaller yield of these recipes is a huge plus especially if you only have one or two people eating all these treats. I can’t wait to try more of these D4T recipes.

  3. October 14, 2010 10:55 pm

    drool, drool, drool….

  4. Andrea permalink
    October 15, 2010 12:00 am

    Oh my, those cheesecakes look fantastic. Stopping at one would be incredibly difficult! Yum, yum, yum.

Leave a Reply

