Skip to content

Recap: BlogHer Food ’10 Pity Party!

October 12, 2010

Before I get back to my review of the marvelous Desserts 4 Today, I wanted to do a brief recap of the food blog event of the season.  No, not BlogHer Food.  Even better.  I mean worse.  I’m not sure what I mean.  But I do know I am talking about the BlogHer Food ’10 Pity Party, affectionately known by its acronym, #BHF10PP. 

 #BHF10PP was the brainchild of those mad geniuses over at the Peche, Chris & Karen. (Three kids under three and brainchildren too – I don’t know what is in the water over there at Peche headquarters.) Instead of just feeling sorry for ourselves for not attending BlogHer Food by whining in an unorganized way on Twitter, Chris instituted the #BHF10PP hashtag and then took it one step further by setting up an official website for the Pity Party.  And then a funny thing happened. The Pity Party grew.  And it got sponsors and prizes and guest speakers.  And eventually over 200 people signed up to party with us! Crazy, man. Crazy.

 I like to think about my #BHF10PP experience as not unlike the five stages of grief.  Come along with me, won’t you?

1. Denial – This is the stage when I first started hearing about the conference on Twitter and saw people selling tickets and looking for tickets.  I thought to myself, I don’t care about BlogHer Food.  It’s just one of those big impersonal conventions where I’d get lost in the crowd.  I’d rather stay home and make a nice meal and have a nice glass of wine and relax.  BlogHer Food – pfffffthpt.

    IMG_1572_edited-1

2. Rage – This is the stage when I found out people I knew and liked were definitely going and they started twittering about how excited they were and what should they pack, and OMG they are packing and getting ready to go to the airport and where does everyone want to meet up in SF when they get there???  The BASTARDS.  How dare they tweet their excitement at us poor plebes who can’t go??  Hmmph. And that’s when the crystal glasses started getting broken

3. Bargaining – Okay, okay.  So, maybe, just maybe, if I try to join in on the excitement and try to be genuinely happy for the folks who got to be there, I will glean some knowledge from the event.  They will share what they learned and it will almost be like being there, right, right??  And if I put on a happy face and use this plastic wine glass maybe karma will stop punishing me with the breaking crystal?

    IMG_1573

4. Depression – Time for full-on self pity.  While the tweets kept coming about the great speakers at BlogHer Food, I settled in with stale cheese bread, plain tortilla chips (salsa was too much trouble) and some Captain Morgan. (Okay, it was with a nice warm apple cider so it was actually a lovely treat.  But it was hard liquor, dammit!) I tweeted my misery along with the other pity partiers and spiraled deeper into a funk as I won no prizes.  Even with good odds I am still pathetic.  Blaaaaaaaaah.

IMG_1587

Tasty beverage with hard liquor

 5. Acceptance – At this point some of the BlogHer Food attendees were getting burnt out and tired. But, #BHF10PP was making lots of people happy!  Awesome prizes were given out.  We couldn’t help but laugh at our own pitiful selves. We even raised a few bucks to buy Ivory Hut some yoga pants at Target, yay! And, one lucky pity partier even got a ticket to next year’s BlogHer Food. How cool is that? Not only all that, but I even got my fridge cleaned out. And, no jetlag. Life is good!

2010 10 09

Disgusting fridge remnants

So, thanks again to Chris & Karen for being just crazy enough to organize the pity and for never taking it all too seriously.  I know I had fun, no matter how miserable I was/acted/seemed.  We’ll never really know.  I came away from #BHF10PP feeling inspired (to eat more corn chips), stronger (probably a delusion) and ready to move in new directions (towards the shower would be for the best.) Hugz!!

IMG_1582

Ozzie demonstrating proper wallowing technique

UPDATE!  Approximately immediately after I hit publish, I looked at Twitter and found out I won a BHF10PP hangover prize from Scharffen Berger!!!!  Holy cow!!!  Add stage six: ELATION!!!  Thanks, Scharffen Berger!!!  

16 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2010 1:46 am

    Haha, loved this post! It totally captured what the BHF10PP was all about. 😉

  2. October 12, 2010 2:17 am

    You really captured the spirit of the #BHF10PP! So much fun (and pitiful) hanging out with you all weekend. I want to go to BlogHer Food next year, but I kinda don’t want to miss the fun if we do it again. :-S Pathetic, right?

    And congrats on your “hangover” win – Scharffen Berger and you – rock!

  3. October 12, 2010 4:39 am

    # BHf10PP was a great party! Loved your re-cap.

  4. October 12, 2010 6:55 am

    No commitments. No showers. No expenses. No travel. Lots of camaraderie. Lots of good advice (live chats — and check out those videos, including your VERY helpful advice for the box wine problem). Lots of good humor. Lots of prizes (!). Chris & Karen at The Peche probably started way more than they bargained for. Those two are just plain awesome. Thanks for the recap!

  5. October 12, 2010 12:42 pm

    Jennifer, I could not have said it any better than you did here. You won one of the hangover prizes? Awesome.

    And my hat is off to the evil genius that is Chris and Karen over at The Peche for making it all real.

  6. October 12, 2010 1:12 pm

    Perfectly captured! It was fun (I mean teribbly sad and pitiful) wasn’t it!
    Congrats on your Hangover prize!!!

  7. October 12, 2010 2:30 pm

    All I can say is LOL. And a pathetic, pitiful time was had by all. Whoo-hoo!

  8. October 12, 2010 3:32 pm

    LOL…we were that pathetic, huh? 🙂

  9. October 12, 2010 3:33 pm

    LOL!! Love this… You are the best 🙂

  10. October 12, 2010 3:47 pm

    Great recap! I am still feeling the love from all of the other miserable people that shared in the experience. 🙂

  11. October 12, 2010 4:31 pm

    You hit the nail on the head; I had to remind myself to use the word sad because, well, that was supposed to identify us…but the truth is I wasn’t. Not a bit. And seeing the face of your adorable pup was the icing on the ‘I’m not so sad after all’ cake!

  12. October 12, 2010 4:36 pm

    I didn’t even know what your tweets were about but they still made me laugh! Fun spending the day with you. Very funny post, too!

  13. October 12, 2010 9:18 pm

    Ha, ha! Very cute post! Almost makes me wish I was feeling sorry for myself that night too!

    (And I swear I’m not making you break any glasses! 😉 )

  14. October 12, 2010 9:18 pm

    Oh and congrats on your prize too!

  15. LeighG permalink
    October 13, 2010 1:45 pm

    Too funny and LOVE Ozzie’s picture at the end!

Trackbacks

  1. Scharffen Berger Brownies! « Bread & Putter

Leave a Reply

