Skip to content

Photo Assignment – Portraiture

September 30, 2010

Well, I completely missed Scott’s last challenge even though I took about a billion pictures for it.  I just never put it together on time.  But, I’m back!  And my muse is my very handsome husband.

portrait 2

Scott said that we should explain how we took the picture so I am going to keep it real here and tell you that I put my point-and-shoot on portrait mode and shot away!  Although I will take credit for the positioning and the background.  It was late in the afternoon on a cloudy day so I chose the side of the shed facing south.  Here, I kept his eyes in the top third of the photo.

portrait1

Here’s a little bit of a smile and a little bit of a squint, but I kind of like that.   I played around with the negative space on this for a little interest and put his face a little left of center, sort of like him.  😉

16 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2010 2:30 am

    What a good sport! and a handsome guy. I like that the 2nd one is off center. Nicely done.

  2. September 30, 2010 2:59 am

    That first shot of “serious” hubby took me by surprise! Serious isn’t the word I think of for him! 😉
    The “left of center” seems appropriate, along with the squint and just a hint of sparkle ( or devil, LOL!) in his eye.
    Nice job sliding this in just under the wire!

    • September 30, 2010 11:47 pm

      When I first asked him if he would do it, he said but I haven’t shaved! I said that’s okay, it can be a gritty portrait! We took some with him smoking but obviously I didn’t like those. He was leaning against the fence like James Dean at first but the fence was too short for a nice clean background. In that first picture he had just exhaled some smoke but I didn’t catch the smoke in the photo.

  3. September 30, 2010 5:42 am

    You did a good job Jennifer. Your husband too. He must be a patient man.
    I like the soft light.

    • September 30, 2010 11:48 pm

      Thank you, Carsten! I tried to be quick about it so I wouldn’t try his patience too much.

  4. Andrea permalink
    September 30, 2010 11:29 am

    Great photos Jennifer!! Hubby is handsome as ever. I really like both photos, you did a great job.

    • September 30, 2010 11:48 pm

      Thanks, Andrea! He really is a handsome devil, isn’t he?

  5. September 30, 2010 12:20 pm

    I really like the first shot. He fills the frame nicely.

  6. September 30, 2010 5:05 pm

    Your point and shoot camera must be a very good one, the light at these photos is perfect, and the warm tones so natural. I think you did a very fine portrait of your handsome husband.

    • September 30, 2010 11:50 pm

      Thank you, giiid! I have to say, my little camera isn’t too shabby. I just got it earlier this year and I have been quite pleased with it.

  7. October 1, 2010 12:36 pm

    Excellent. That’s what portrait mode is all about. Nice skin tones and catchlights.

  8. LeighG permalink
    October 2, 2010 3:02 pm

    Great pictures of Larry! One or both need to be framed and go up somewhere in your house or on your desk. 🙂

  9. October 7, 2010 2:33 am

    I like the first shot, now you have a nice portrait of him. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Assignment 9: Recap « Views Infinitum

Leave a Reply

