Skip to content

Sausage and Ribs

September 27, 2010

Moving on from Stuff I Made from the Farmers’ Market, now it is time for Stuff I Made from the Meat CSA. It occurred to me today that it is almost October and there will be a new shipment coming soon and I haven’t made that much of a dent in last month’s shipment yet. And my freezer is stuffed still from all that freezer cooking. Eeek! Time to get eating!

IMG_1337

One of the first things I made from this shipment was another recipe from Pam Anderson’s amazing Perfect One Dish Dinners.   I am not a person who cooks sausage on a regular basis, so I was happy to have a recipe like this to do good by these high quality pork sausages.  It’s called Cassoulet Style Italian Sausage with Beans and it was so simple – I just placed the sausages in a large oven-proof skillet with lots of veggies and herbs and then baked for 45 minutes.  Then I added two cans of cannelini beans with their juices to the pan and cooked for 15 more minutes.

IMG_1338

I had some nice bread on hand so I went ahead and added Pam’s flourish of fresh toasted breadcrumbs on top and I really liked it. I’m not usually a big sausage fan and neither is my stepdaughter but we both had to admit that it was pretty good for sausage, and we both loved how the beans picked up all the delicious flavors of the veggies and sausage. My husband liked the sausage even more than pretty good!

The next thing I made was the pork spare ribs. I was a little concerned about the size of the package and this is what I got when I opened it up:

IMG_1339

Three decent size chunks-o-ribs. I decided to do them up simply with the rub I got in Memphis at Rendezvous.

IMG_1340

I coated each side of each chunk with a generous amount of the rub and placed them on a rack inside of a jelly roll pan. I poured a little bit of water into the bottom of the pan, and wrapped it up tight with foil and baked at 325 for about an hour and a half.

IMG_1344

And that’s what I ended up with. As the cook in my family, I am always taking the lesser bits of food and in this case that meant that sad looking hunk at the bottom right corner that the bones thrust themselves out of. It wasn’t the best choice. My chunk was very chewy and didn’t actually have much meat on it. I gave my husband one of the other nicer pieces which he enjoyed and then went for seconds with the remaining chunk. He gave me half of that and oh, what a difference!! I really enjoyed those two ribs and I was disappointed that my original piece was so shabby by comparison.

So, while I am in general still excited about the CSA, I am a little concerned about the portioning. On this particular night, neither of my stepdaughters were home so it was technically enough food for just the two of us, but not even enough for my husband to have any leftovers for lunch. I would think when you order a full share that they would try a little harder to provide enough of each thing to feed 3 – 4 people. Maybe I should have just waited till next month to see if I got any more ribs! The time is coming soon, so I will be sure to report what shows up next.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2010 3:14 am

    Love Pam’s recipe for the sausage – yours looks wonderful!

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      September 27, 2010 10:59 pm

      Thanks, Tracy! It’s a photogenic dish. 🙂

  2. September 27, 2010 6:03 pm

    Hey! This looks delicious. LOVE the addition of the bread crumbs. Glad it was a hit with the hubby 🙂 And thanks for the shout out! Also, I would do pretty much anything for one of those spare ribs right now. Talk about YUM!

  3. September 27, 2010 7:33 pm

    I saw that recipe today (Pam’s) and said wow I bet that’s good! And you made it looks even more amazing. I’ve never heard of a meat CSA. Very interesting. I look forward to hearing more about it from you!

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      September 27, 2010 11:03 pm

      Hi Robyn – thanks for your comment! The meat CSA is great – it’s not always easy to find humanely raised grass-fed meats in my area so this is an excellent way to make sure I always have some in the freezer.

  4. September 28, 2010 8:22 pm

    Oh what a problem to have – an overstuffed with good food freezer! I’d LOVE to have that problem! 🙂

    • September 29, 2010 1:39 am

      Good point! I shouldn’t complain. I just need to make sure there is room for the next shipment because it’s just not a very big freezer. We ate some of the mashed potatoes yesterday from the freezer cooking project so there’s a little more space!

Leave a Reply

