Skip to content

Farmers’ Market Bounty

September 22, 2010

Once again I recently made my way up to the awesome farmers’ market in Northampton. And this time I was joined by Valerie from Sex, Food, and Rock & Roll.  (Go ahead and read that post – Valerie called me cool!  Me! Cool – wow, first time for everything I guess.) Valerie and I had a great time ooh-ing and ahh-ing over the gorgeous selection and trying to decide what to buy.

IMG_1323

Here’s just some of the goodies I came home with.  Aren’t all the colors gorgeous?  See that pretty yellow melon in the back?  It’s called an Amy melon and it was awesome.

IMG_1329

I could eat this melon everyday and the farmer told us that they are easy to grow.  I think I’ll be making space for Amy in my garden next year!

IMG_1328

Here’s a close up of the tomatoes I brought home – those little guys are black cherry tomatoes and oh, my! So tomato-y and so snackable, all by themselves, like oh, I don’t know – cherries?? But, also quite delicious like this:

IMG_1334

I went to the olive bar at my local grocery store and brought home these adorable little marinated mozzarella balls, cut them in half and tossed them with the halved black cherry tomatoes. Instant caprese salad! Yum! Although my husband wondered how we would tell if they were rotten, already being so dark and funky looking. No worries – they were consumed in plenty of time!

IMG_1331

I also bought some tomatillos. I had seen this lovely tomatillo sauce recipe on the excellent blog A Thought For Food and Brian made it look so tasty I just had to try it.  I made a couple of minor tweaks to Brian’s recipe – shallots instead of garlic and onions, and a jalapeno instead of dried red chili peppers.  I served it atop some simple pan-fried chicken and rice pilaf:

IMG_1336

What a great, different kick to a simple meal! And, I had some leftovers to freeze to warm up another meal soon.

Oh, how I love the farmers’ market! September is peak time but there’s not much time left at the markets here in New England so enjoy the bounty while you can. I know I will be!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2010 2:07 am

    I had so much fun! I’m going to try to go back out this Saturday. I forgot all about the amy melon sitting in my fridge! I need to eat that soon…

    • September 23, 2010 12:39 am

      Oh no – I hope it is still good! Eat it soon – so yummy!

  2. September 22, 2010 7:07 pm

    My husband and I recently found the Farmer’s Market here in Calgary and brought home the best sweet corn we’ve ever had. They say the market is open year round, so I’m curious to see what will be available to buy when the whole area is covered with snow.

    You know I’m not much of a cook, but I LOVE really good fruit and gorgeous things to throw in a salad. The Farmer’s Market, baby.

    • September 23, 2010 12:41 am

      Wow, open all year? That’s fantastic. Maybe they have more “artisan” products in the winter? Cheeses and such?

  3. September 23, 2010 12:09 am

    Love the farmer’s market! All of these goodies look great, yum!

  4. September 23, 2010 12:42 am

    Your veggies look delish! I am especially intrigued by the black cherry tomatoes. I made that same thing with a few leftover tomatoes from my garden for lunch today, even with the marinated mozzerella balls from the olive bar – love those things.

Leave a Reply

