Skip to content

Tabouli-Inspired Spaghetti Squash

September 20, 2010

Spaghetti squash is like an empty canvas just waiting for an artist to have their way with it.  Or, in my case, for a kitchen hack to throw stuff at it and see what sticks.  When I was given a lovely specimen last week, I got the idea to play it up with the same flavors as I would use in tabouli.  I say the flavors I would use because I always use my Armenian mother-in-law’s recipe which does not include mint like some other versions do.

IMG_1341

So, here’s what I did – I chopped up fresh parsley, bell pepper, tomato and onion and tossed that with the scraped out squash guts along with some olive oil, garlic powder, and salt and pepper.  I didn’t have any lemons on hand, but if I had, I probably would have added a splash of lemon juice too.  It was lovely without it too though.

IMG_1343_edited-1

Ta-da! I served it at room temperature, and the leftovers were good cold or hot.

Tabouli-Inspired Spaghetti Squash

1 spaghetti squash
1/4 cup chopped green or red bell pepper
1/4 cup chopped onion
1/2 cup chopped tomato
1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon garlic powder

Prepare spaghetti squash by either microwaving or baking. (I baked mine at 325 for about 90 minutes.) Scrape out and discard seeds and then scrape out flesh and place in a bowl. Mix squash with the rest of the ingredients and toss, adding salt and pepper to taste.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2010 12:43 am

    Ya know, I just can’t get into winter squash. Hubby bought acorn squash today – I say, no thanks. You say you served at room temperature – how come? I’d never think of squash at room temperature.

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      September 20, 2010 12:53 am

      Have you ever tried spaghetti squash? It is so different from any other squash! I would not compare it to acorn or butternut at all. I served it at room temperature mostly because of timing but also just figuring it would be fine that way, like certain kinds of salad like potato salad that are good room temperature or cold.

  2. September 20, 2010 2:58 pm

    Beautiful. I’m not normally a fan of spaghetti squash, but this looks doable.

    • September 21, 2010 12:08 am

      Thanks for stopping by, Serene! And I’m glad I made spaghetti squash look appealing for you.

  3. September 20, 2010 4:50 pm

    I’ve never tried spaghetti squash before. I’ll have to keep an eye out for it at our CSA so that I can try this!

    • September 21, 2010 12:09 am

      I think I only tried it the first time last year or maybe the year before. I really like it and it’s so cool when all these strings start separating right out of the squash!

  4. September 22, 2010 1:55 am

    I always put chili over spaghetti squash, but this seems like a much better idea. I’m sold on it.

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      September 22, 2010 2:10 am

      Chili, how interesting! I might have to try that. Let me know how you like this version.

Leave a Reply

