Skip to content

First Grass-Fed Meat CSA Shipment

September 9, 2010

After my experience with the sampler from Eight O’Clock Ranch, I decided to try a three-month subscription to their meat CSA.  Let’s take a looksie, shall we?  (is it looksie or look-see?)

IMG_1261

Chuck roast and lamb shoulder steaks. When I first saw shoulder abbreviated as “shld” my thought was shield steaks. No, I have no idea what a shield steak would be.

IMG_1260

Oh my, come to mama, sirloin tip roast! Pork shoulder steak? I’ve never heard of you. I have no idea what to do with you. Anyone???

IMG_1262

Boneless and bone-in pork chops – something for everyone!

IMG_1264

Hmmm, only 1.8 pounds of pork spare ribs – not sure how far I can make that go but they do look pretty meaty! Only 2 pounds of ground beef in this shipment…

IMG_1263

…and 1 pound of ground lamb and a pound of pork sausages, so they aren’t padding half the shipment with the lower end stuff.

IMG_1265

Also, this teeny tiny strip steak. What an odd thing to include all by itself! And, I just realized I missed taking a picture of the lamb shank, of which there was also just one. Those could be the trickiest cuts of what I received, but overall I am excited for the challenge of working with the random pieces. And the best part of this CSA? No cartons full of Swiss chard. It’s the little things that make me happy!  Okay, no, really the best thing is that I can rest easy knowing I have a freezer full of humanely raised meats and it’s delicious too.  (No chard is a very close second though!)

13 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2010 2:56 am

    Hmm..that’s interesting. Food for thought. (ha!)

  2. September 9, 2010 4:00 am

    Mmm…I have been thinking about getting some meat from them. I’ll probably just get a couple pieces of beef and lamb to start.

    Also, it’s look-see! It’s the combination of saying, “have a look” and “have a see,” the latter being completely improper grammatically, but still commonly used. I’ve only ever seen it written this way in novels, as well.

  3. Andrea permalink
    September 9, 2010 2:23 pm

    We ate the pork shoulder steaks a lot in Germany. They were prepared by pounding the steaks very thin, then they were rubbed with a mix that was heavy in paprika, but also had salt, pepper, onion, garlic. Then, grilled and served on a thick roll. Delicious!!!

    • September 10, 2010 12:28 am

      Interesting! This thing is pretty large so I would think to prepare it that way it might have to be cut into smaller filets first. Hmmmmmm.

  4. September 9, 2010 8:41 pm

    What an interesting shipment. Do you make choices with a subscription like this? It seems very interesting to me but I’d never want all that lamb.

    The pork shoulder steaks could possibly work with a recipe that we use around here kind of regularly with pork tenderloin. It simmers for quite a while in broth and onions until the liquid cooks down to a thick sauce.

    What’s the cook-to-freeze thing you tweeted about? Sounds interesting and useful. Will you share the recipes you are making?

    • September 10, 2010 12:30 am

      I have a few ideas on that now including a pork stew.

      My friend Sandi who was maybe going to do a guest post about the cooking-to-freeze thing got us going with this. You get together and prepare several meals together and share the cost and the labor and everyone goes home with meals to put in the freezer. More details coming soon!

      • September 10, 2010 12:37 am

        That sounds really interesting, and like a lot of fun!

      • September 10, 2010 12:44 am

        Huh, for some reason it isn’t letting me reply on Valerie’s reply. Anyway, this would definitely fit in with your Cost of Food posts!

  5. September 10, 2010 12:53 am

    Yes it could! I’m already planning on blogging about Saturday!

    As for the threaded comments, check your “discussion” settings in your WP backend. I am not sure if it is the same for WordPress.com as it is for a self-hosted WP blog, but I assume it is. If so, you can choose how deeply your comments thread.

    • September 12, 2010 7:30 pm

      The blog owner can reply to any comment by using the Dashboard, too. If you go to “view all” under your recent comments, it takes you to a page where you can view and reply to any comment.

  6. September 10, 2010 11:25 pm

    Looks like a lot of good stuff! Hubby and I are getting his parent’s old freezer soon, and then we plan to start buying meat from a local organic farm. I can’t wait!!

Trackbacks

  1. Fresh Ham, Fine Cooking Style « Bread & Putter
  2. The Food Project « Karma's When I Feel Like It Blog

Leave a Reply

