Skip to content

Pam Anderson’s Coq Au Vin Blanc

September 1, 2010

Ahhhh, the Big Summer Potluck – I still have such great memories and warm, fuzzy feelings when I think about it. And it helps that I have some great physical reminders of that day like Trongs and Pam Anderson’s new cookbook, Perfect One-Dish Dinners.

IMG_1080

I finally tried one of the beautiful recipes from this book back on August 22nd. I point that date out specifically so that one does not think perhaps this is a Three Many Cooks tribute/rip-off blog. You see, I tried out my trongs the first time right around the same time Maggy blogged about them and then two days after I tried Pam’s Coq Au Vin Blanc, Maggy blogged about that too. Sorry, Maggy, I swear I’m not stalking you!

Coq Au Vin Blanc is a lighter, springier version of the traditional Coq Au Vin, featuring white wine instead of red and easy boneless, skinless chicken thighs instead of a tough old rooster.

IMG_1044

Here’s some of the ingredients and it occurs to me I didn’t photograph the potatoes. I LOVE these potatoes. They are locally grown and I haven’t been able to find them the last few years so I bought two bags the other day. Mmmmm, local, flavorful potato goodness!

I really didn’t change much about this recipe as I actually planned and shopped accordingly for a change. The only change I made was with the onions. I could not (and pretty much can never) find frozen pearl onions without cream sauce. So, instead of browning them at the beginning, I tossed them in at the same time as the wine and broth.

IMG_1045

This smelled wonderful while it was cooking and I liked the subtle flavor of the tarragon – there is something about tarragon that just tastes, I don’t know, professional?? It seems maybe home cooks don’t use it very often so when I do taste it, I think restaurant and in a good way! Let’s all start using more tarragon, mmkay? Kay!

IMG_1046

We loved the creamy, flavorful sauce and I loved the easy “one-dish” clean up. My husband’s only complaint? That I didn’t serve some great crusty bread to go with it to sop up all that lovely sauce! The good news is that all of these recipes serve at least six so I had plenty of leftovers to freeze. I promise crusty bread to go with it next time!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2010 12:41 am

    I made this right around the same time as you. We aren’t artichoke people. Not that there’s anything wrong with artichoke people, we just aren’t them. So I switched in carrots. And I used regular onions because I flat out couldn’t FIND pearl onions. There was like a run on them at my local grocery store or something. Maybe everyone else was making coq au vin blanc too? I got nothing. Anyway, I’m happy to say that carrots and normal onions seemed not to make a blind bit of difference. This stuff is so tasty I’m still thinking about it too. Mannnnn oh man, people. MAKE THIS.

    • September 1, 2010 12:51 am

      I am thinking fondly of the frozen leftovers right now!

      We’re not typically into artichokes either and I would say in this application they just added a pleasantly balanced acidic tang. I don’t think my husband even noticed them!

  2. September 1, 2010 1:07 pm

    I made this the weekend after BSP for family who stayed with us for the weekend, and we all just loved it! It’s one of my new favorite meals and is now part of my regular meal rotation (in fact, I’m making it again this week!). I served it with a salad and crusty garlic bread, and it was delicious…I really can’t say enough about it!

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      September 2, 2010 1:13 am

      I can see this becoming a regular part of my rotation too! It’s so easy and tasty.

  3. September 1, 2010 7:59 pm

    I haven’t made it yet for my family. Your post has me wishing I had the items on hand to prepare it tonight for dinner though. I’m adding everything to my grocery list so I can cook it soon though. Thanks for giving me the little push {awesome post} to get me to make it!

    Thanks,
    Robyn

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      September 2, 2010 1:13 am

      Awww, thanks Robyn, I am glad you liked the post!

  4. September 1, 2010 8:48 pm

    I love meals that only dirty one dish, I love meals that make enough to freeze, and I love yummy sauces- sounds like a winner to me! 🙂

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      September 2, 2010 1:14 am

      Thanks for stopping by, Heather! Try this recipe soon – you won’t be sorry!

  5. September 5, 2010 3:07 pm

    I bet this filled your house with so many wonderful smells. Great recipe and a fantastic book!

  6. Anne permalink
    September 8, 2010 6:20 pm

    This is wonderful – will become a staple at our house too!

  7. October 6, 2010 4:47 pm

    Gorgeous food photography! I made a great variation on coq au vin–”rigatoni with braised chicken and saffron cream.” It was unbelievably delicious!
    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/09/24/rigatoni-with-braised-chicken-and-saffron-cream/

Leave a Reply

