Skip to content

Vegetable Stock and Domestic Badassery

August 24, 2010

Ladies and gentlemen, I’d like you to meet Valerie from the awesomely-named blog, Sex, Food and Rock & Roll.  Valerie was nice enough to friend me over on Tasty Kitchen and after checking out each other blogs and following each other on Twitter (follow her @sexfoodrock) we discovered that she lives in the same town as I work!  Such a small world out there on the internets sometimes!

Valerie may or may not have coined the term domestic badassery but until someone proves me wrong, I’m attributing it to her.  And, I’m totally co-opting it.  I aspire to be a domestic badass – watch out Martha!  One of Valerie’s favorite ways to be a domestic badass is to make her own stock from kitchen scraps.   When I first read her post, I had one of those a-ha moments.  Or maybe it was a d’oh moment.  As in, d’oh! Why aren’t I doing this already?  Well, now I am and currently in my freezer there are three separate zip bags – one with chicken bones and parts, one with king crab leg shells, and one with vegetable scraps.  And whenever I have an appropriate scrap, I add more to the corresponding bag. Recently, the veggie scrap bag was about ready to burst so it was about time I made stock.

IMG_1008

In that mess you can see celery chunks, a greenish cherry tomato, onion ends, parsley stems, potato peels, carrot bits and zucchini pieces.   It’s a gallon size bag and it was very full.

IMG_1009

I dumped it all into my biggest stock pot…

08-12-10_1647_edited-1

… covered the veggies with water and took this terrible picture with my cell phone.  I brought it all to a boil, then reduced it to a simmer and after about two hours, I strained it and had this:

IMG_1010

Rich, deeply colored, amazingly fragrant, all-natural vegetable stock!  I used some in a quick pasta primavera recipe and froze the rest in one-cup portions, ready to use as much or as little as needed.  All from scraps, so all for free, really.  Thanks for the kick in the pants, Valerie.  I’m now a scrap-saving, stock-making, domestic badassery machine!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2010 3:19 am

    WOOHOO! We should start a club or something for domestic badasses. Screw the goddess crap, we’re way cooler than that!

    I’m really glad your stock came out well. My chicken bag is about to asplode, but I haven’t used the chicken stock I already have, so I think I need to make some soup or something.

    Oh, and I took some photos this morning for another post about things that make me feel smug. 😀 Kick my butt so I don’t put it off for a month, kthx.

    • August 25, 2010 12:12 am

      Oh, I can’t wait to find out about your latest badassery! You better get right on that. Thanks for letting me join the club. 🙂

  2. August 24, 2010 12:08 pm

    I’m dreaming of the day when my freezer has adequate room to store scraps for stock and then quarts and quarts of homemade stocky goodness.

    • August 25, 2010 12:14 am

      Wendi, my freezer actually pretty much sucks but I am doing this anyway. I have a very old side-by-side so the freezer is this goofy narrow thing. Zip bags are helpful since they mold to whatever shape is available in there.

  3. August 24, 2010 1:23 pm

    @Valerie: I agree domestic badass sounds way cooler than goddess. I’m afraid I’ll never be either, unfortunately! 😉

    Hey, we both wrote about small-worldness in the blogosphere in our most recent posts! That’s kinda cool. Have you and Valerie met in person?

    • August 25, 2010 12:16 am

      That’s okay, not all of us are up to the badassery! 🙂

      We haven’t met yet but we were discussing perhaps a farmers’ market visit together soon. Valerie, let’s get on that!

      • August 27, 2010 5:22 am

        We definitely should! What works best for you, Saturdays or Sundays? The markets will only be around a couple more months! And that makes me sad since I haven’t been able to make it to any really good ones yet. 😦

  4. August 24, 2010 1:35 pm

    Wow, I never realized it was so easy to make vegetable stock! I am totally going to start doing this…I’ve always made it with chicken before, and I hated the smell so I gave up on it. 😉

    • August 25, 2010 12:17 am

      I know what you mean – that chickeny smell can get on your nerves after awhile but I promise this smells way better. Another thing you could do is make chicken and vegetable stock. The veggies would make the chicken smell better. 🙂

      • August 27, 2010 5:21 am

        Chicken stock is supposed to be made with chicken parts & veggies anyway; it has so much more flavor, color, and a ton more nutrients. Tracy, if you feel like reading my slightly long post that Jennifer linked, it is actually about chicken stock.

  5. September 13, 2010 1:08 am

    I’m a little late to the party, but Valerie’s domestic baddassery was just the nudge I needed to start saving up the veggie scraps to make my own stock. Only for me it was less of a d’oh! moment and more of a duh! As in, of course you can make your own vegetable stock.

Leave a Reply

