Skip to content

Trongs!

August 22, 2010

Back at the Big Summer Potluck, all of the attendees received these marvelous gift bags loaded with goodies.  One of the goodies was a last minute addition from Maggy of Three Many Cooks.  It’s Trongs!  She spied them in New York City and was intrigued.  They are marketed to keep your fingers clean when eating messy foods like wings and ribs, but Maggy thought they’d be even better as a kitchen tool.  They could be used to protect your fingers when chopping hot peppers or anything else that might irritate the skin. 

Now, as my family would be happy to tell you, I hate getting my fingers dirty or sticky.  So, not only would I be delighted to use them for ribs, wings, and kitchen prep, but maybe now I could actually eat Cheetos.  Today, however, I tried them out for a more egregious dirty sticky finger situation – dredging.

IMG_1035_edited-1

I was making these Parmesan Zucchini Sticks, which are really too small to dip and dredge with a fork.  I usually use my fingers and weep as they become fully encrusted with egg, breadcrumbs and cheese.  Not today!

IMG_1036_edited-1

They took a little getting used to and the zucchini pieces got pretty slippery in the egg wash but I got the hang of it pretty quickly.

IMG_1039_edited-1

I breaded all of these pieces…

IMG_1037_edited-1

…and look, Ma!  Clean hands!  Relatively clean, anyway, and definitely no big encrusted nubs on the ends of my fingers. 

 Whoo-hoo!  Call me a Trongs fan and pass me the Cheetos!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. LeighG permalink
    August 22, 2010 3:28 pm

    Pretty cool!

  2. August 22, 2010 5:37 pm

    Neat idea! While I don’t mind messy, sticky fingers all that much, dredging certainly does get to me. I usually look like I have dough lollypops on the ends of my fingers when I finish a job like that.

  3. August 22, 2010 7:51 pm

    @Jennifer: Sorry for stalking, but I like to see what people I don’t know really think about our design. We spent about 14 months (12 prototypes) trying to make them intuitive and comfortable. The fact that they stand like a tripod was critical to help avoid the urgent ‘clean your hands’ scramble when the phone rings while you’re prepping dinner. I used them (a pair) last week to peel the steaming husks off ears of corn that I grilled. Feel free to contact me with other ideas.

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      August 22, 2010 9:31 pm

      Thanks for stopping by, Eric! I like them quite a bit and they are pretty easy to get used to. I will definitely keep using them in the kitchen.

  4. August 22, 2010 10:16 pm

    I was looking forward to trying these out on some chicken wings, but now I love the idea of using them for dredging! I agree that these are a great kitchen tool!

  5. August 23, 2010 12:39 pm

    Jennifer, glad to know the Trongs aren’t just for wings.

Trackbacks

  1. Pam Anderson’s Coq Au Vin Blanc « Bread & Putter

Leave a Reply

