Skip to content

To market I go

August 4, 2010

In my quest to be greener and local-er and all socially and environmentally aware and all that, I have been trying to make a point to shop at farmers’ markets.  I live in the beautiful, pastoral Pioneer Valley where farms abound after all.  Here’s the thing though.  I have farmers’ market envy.  It starts in the spring when all those New York food bloggers start waxing poetic about all the rhubarb and ramps and fiddleheads and my goodness, whatever shall they make with the bounty.

IMG_0926

Our farmers’ markets here in Massachusetts, however, don’t even open until late spring and then all they have is vegetable plants and flowers and shrubs.  I can’t very well make a lovely little cobbler with chopped up shrubs though, now can I?

IMG_0915

It starts getting a little better after Memorial Day when some of the vendors have a few hot house tomatoes and some early cucumbers and maybe a few greens, radishes and peas.  But, I was still not seeing the bounty I hoped for even in mid-July when I visited the markets in Westfield and in Springfield on Avocado Street.  I was disappointed when there were often more purveyors of baked goods and jams than of actual produce. 

Then I did it…

IMG_0911

I went and drove up to the Northampton famers’ market on Saturday morning.  And that, my friends, is a farmers’ market!  I felt like a kid in a candy store!  I wanted something from every stall.  There were vendors with plants, and even one or two with jams and honeys, but there was more!  So much more.  I bought some grass-fed beef from Chicoine Family Farm.  I bought some locally grown wheat berries from Northfield.  And then there was the produce!  Glory hallelujah, the produce.  There were greens and lettuces of every kind, adorable fingerling potatoes in every color imaginable,  beautiful white and purple swirled eggplants, squashes, heirloom tomatoes, blueberries, blackberries and corn-on-the-cob.  I bought broccoli and leeks and nectarines and those pretty yellow plums pictured above.

IMG_0912

So, I loved this market and I wish it were just a wee bit closer to home as I wonder; am I cancelling out my green-ness by driving a half hour out of my way to get there?  Maybe I am overanalyzing.  A bit.  I still just wish it was around the corner.  After my adventures in produce, I drove even a little further out of my way to the Trader Joe’s in Hadley – the only one in our area.  Don’t even get me started on how much I wish that was closer!

IMG_0919

I know, I know.  I am just being a whiny baby – after all we do have some fabulous farm stands in nearby Westfield and Agawam and I certainly make it a habit to shop them.   If only those farm stands carried Trader Joe’s organic breakfast cereals and marinara sauce (all for less than the regular stuff at Big Y).  Then I could really stop whining!

IMG_0922

Ah, well, for now I will stuff my face to stave off the whimpering with this Summer Fruit Upside Down Cake.  I’ve blogged this one before – it’s an oldie but a goodie.  The nice thing about it is that you can change up the fruit mixture with whatever looks good at the farmers’ market (or farm stand) as long as you keep the total fruit quantity about the same.  This time I used Westfield blueberries along with those pretty golden plums and some nectarines that weren’t quite ripe yet, but perfect for baking.

IMG_0925

It’s lovely warm out of the oven with a little whipped cream or vanilla ice cream.  Or for breakfast.   Or for a snack.  Just make it and enjoy it soon – the season here in New England is short but delicious, wherever you get the goods.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2010 12:40 pm

    Northampton, eh? Whereabouts in NoHo? I’d like to check out a big farmer’s market. The one here in Wilb. is okay, but small.

    • August 5, 2010 1:42 am

      It is on Gothic Street, one of the side streets right off of Main.

  2. August 4, 2010 12:46 pm

    This cake looks wonderful!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and offering words of comfort – looking forward to meeting you!

  3. August 4, 2010 3:04 pm

    I didn’t realize how lucky I am to have a very large and well-stocked farmer’s market near me. Does Trader’s Joe ship? That would be greener. 🙂

    I would say you driving a bit to get what you want is a good trade off and does help support the regional farmers and vendors. Are the markets on the same day? Maybe you can get some of the one’s from Northampton to come to the ones nearer to you. Never hurts to ask.

    • August 5, 2010 1:43 am

      Maybe – the Westfield one is on Thursdays, and I think this one guy selling chickens and eggs was at both. Good suggestion!

  4. Jennifer permalink
    August 6, 2010 1:43 am

    We have some pretty good markets here in Eastern Mass…i can get fresh eggs, bread, local grass-fed meats and lobster at the one in Quincy.
    Your post has made me nostalgic for Noho, though….I may have to schedule a daytrip to check it out!

    • August 6, 2010 1:48 am

      Oh, lobster – now that’s a farmer’s market I could really get envious of!

      • Jennifer Ricciarelli permalink
        August 6, 2010 1:50 am

        And they are like $5 lb. at the farmers market! I’ve been indulging this summer 🙂

    • August 6, 2010 6:09 pm

      Oh…lobster would be heavenly. There is some at mine but very costly due to the distance. At that price, I’d be indulging, too!!!

  5. August 9, 2010 12:33 pm

    I have never in my life seen a golden plum! When I was reading and scrolling, I thought what ARE those? Man, I bet they taste delicious. I’ve only ever heard of pineapple upside down cake – I’ve never seen any other fruit version. This looks amazing!

    It was wonderful to meet you on Saturday.

    • August 10, 2010 1:38 am

      Thank you for stopping by, Amber! It was nice to meet you too. And yes – those plums were awesome! 🙂

  6. August 9, 2010 2:13 pm

    Jennifer, knowing I should be going to the farmers market and actually going are two different things for me. Maybe I’ll do better next year.

    • August 10, 2010 1:39 am

      Wendi, there is still a lot more to the season, maybe you could get there still this season.

      Thanks for visiting my blog and it was so nice to meet you!

Leave a Reply

