Skip to content

Mad about Mad Men

July 25, 2010

Clearly, I should have asked KillerCoconut to fill in for me for two weeks since I practically took another vacation last week.  I have a good excuse though and if excuses are like armpits, then mine smell like smokey rooms and whiskey.  You see, I have been on a mission.  My goal: to watch all three previous seasons of Mad Men before the season four begins tonight on AMC.  I didn’t decide to do this however until a week before vacation and I didn’t watch any during vacation so that meant that in approximately two weeks time, I needed to watch 39 episodes.  I watched 16 episodes the week before vacation and 23 the week after and I have been eating, sleeping and breathing this show.  In fact, I am pretty sure I dreamed this scene earlier this week:

madmen_standard

There I am, working at Sterling Cooper and Joan is pissed that I am copying her wearing her signature pen on a chain!   Peggy thinks maybe we could work on some copy together, and frankly that would be just swell.  Don Draper is trying to figure out if I am a friend or foe, Roger Sterling just wants to go out for a drink and I really don’t like the way Pete Campbell is looking at me.  Hell’s bells, Pete, think of Trudy! 

I’d like to thank the fabulous Tom & Lorenzo for turning me on to this show.  If you are already a fan, I highly recommend checking out their Mad Style posts.  If you aren’t yet watching this show, why not?  The writing is sharp and the acting is amazing.  In my mind this is truly the best show on television since The Sopranos – no surprise as creator Matt Weiner and producer Scott Hornblacher are Sopranos alums. 

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to go prepare for the big show tonight with a Tom Collins and a bag of Utz.

IMG_0908

Utz are better than nuts!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2010 3:37 am

    Hell’s Bells! That was a cool post! How was your Tom Collins? I finished watching season 3 six minutes into season 4! I had it ready to record on DVR just in case I didn’t make it but it turned out to be just enough to let me fast forward through the commercials. Gotta go read Tom and Lorenzo now.

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      July 27, 2010 1:42 am

      The Tom Collins was good – I was pretty sure I’d like it since it has gin and gin is my favorite! Nice refreshing summer drink.

  2. Renae permalink
    July 27, 2010 12:11 pm

    What torture having to wait an entire week now for the next episode!
    At least we have Project Runway to look forward to also.

Trackbacks

  1. They worked my mama with the writ » Quick Roundup

Leave a Reply

