Skip to content

Now I feel like (a) jerk.

July 13, 2010

The last time Jennifer asked me to guest post, it was February and it was Cold As Hell and she was on a tropical island and I was crying frozen tears back in the Pioneer Valley.  This time, she’s in cool, refreshing Maine, sitting on a porch with seagulls wheeling overhead and a gentle ocean breeze fluttering through her hair and I’m, again, back in the Pioneer Valley, only right now, it is 104F with a dew point of 70 (which is apparently EXTREMELY HIGH) and every time I walk outside it’s like being punched in the face with a boiling swamp fist and frankly, it’s worse than the last time, because the thought of cooking anything in my non-airconditioned kitchen makes me want to barf. I hadn’t really considered that factor when I agreed to this.

At any rate, nobody wants to read about barf on a food blog, so I went into the crazy mixed up files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler-Coconut and fished out this fully formed photo essay from a year ago that I had thrown together for some internet friends.  As it says on the discount vegetable cart at the Stop and Shop, “Not our best, but still a good bargain!”  I hope you enjoy it.  It is not very word intensive, but it is too goddamned hot for words anyway.

_________________________________________________________________________

So, I wanted to make some jerk chicken.  I have a great recipe, but I wanted to get organic, free range chicken and eight assorted pieces of that is damned expensive, Jack.

I decided to buy a whole chicken and cut it up myself, which I had never done before.

The staging area:

My extremely sharp paring knife:

The directions for getting the legs off were not really clear.  They are off:

But this doesn’t seem like a professional job:

The wings were much easier:

Chicken Torso would be a good name for a band:

I used my kitchen shears to take out the spine:

Then I cut up the thighs and breasts.  I was covered in raw chicken at this point, so I didn’t take pictures.

The leftovers, mmmmmm:

Voila, eight piece bucket:

Now, the marinade.

Some green onions fresh from the CSA:

These are worth a second look:

Two habenero peppers.  Put on some gloves, son.  Don’t be a hero:

Soy sauce, lime juice, salt, sugar, allspice, mustard, thyme, cinnamon, and two bay leaves with the ribs cut out:

Throw it all in the processor, add two cloves of garlic.  Looks good:

Marinate that chicken for 12-24 hours.

Hot off the grill.  Really hot.

Marinade recipe:

1 cup scallions/green onions
2 habeneros (or to taste) ribbed and seeded
2 tablespoons tamari
2 tablespoons lime juice
1 tablespoon salt
5 teaspoons allspice
2 teaspoons sugar
2 teaspoons ground mustard
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon thyme
2 bay leaves, ribbed and crumbled
2 cloves garlic

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2010 2:54 pm

    I am definitely trying this when I get home!

  2. July 13, 2010 3:17 pm

    Ha! You are hilarious. And as someone married to a Caribbean native, may I add that your jerk chicken looks mighty good. Mighty good indeed.

  3. LeighG permalink
    July 14, 2010 11:03 am

    That does look good!!! Yum!!

  4. July 14, 2010 12:15 pm

    Bleah – I coulda done without the hacked up chicken pictures, LOL! I HATE chopping up raw chicken still on the bone. I chopped some leg quarters last week and ew. But, this recipe is intriguing. Maybe I’ll get hubby to do it for us (or just buy the pre-cut parts!)

  5. July 14, 2010 5:44 pm

    I think you need to negotiate better terms with the blog master. 🙂

Leave a Reply

