Skip to content

Catching up with fruit desserts

June 28, 2010

When I’m not panicking about garden diseases or dabbing vast quantities of cortisone cream on the insane number of bug bites I seem to get, I do love this time of year.  I love all the fruits coming into season, and because I am evil, I can’t leave well enough alone.  I have to bake up lovely desserts with them and mock all the nutritional value with added calories and fat.  Evil, perhaps, but it sure is tasty!

IMG_0648

First, there was this year’s strawberry crop from our garden.  My husband thinks it was a bad year, I thought it was pretty good and better than last year, anyway.  Last year with all the rain most of the berries we got rotted before we got to pick them.  This year at least we picked 5 or 6 quarts of them, which was more than enough to enjoy strawberry shortcake with several times.  I love Alton Brown’s recipe for shortcake and I blogged about it back in 2008. Go. Read.  Drool.

IMG_0698

Next, my husband found a black raspberry bush behind the building at his work and came home with about two cups of these beauties.  I knew they wouldn’t keep long so baking them into a dessert seemed like the most logical thing to do.  (See how my mind works?  Dessert – economical, practical.  How could that be evil?)  I decided to try The Pioneer Woman’s cobbler recipe, substituting the raspberries for the blackberries.  It was like no cobbler I’d ever seen before, but it was still fabulous!

IMG_0699

The berries are spread in the bottom of a buttered casserole dish and then a pancake-like batter is poured over them, and sugar dusted over the top.  As it bakes, the batter puffs up and around the berries and it comes out looking like this:

IMG_0702

This was delicious warm out of the oven with a little scoop of vanilla ice cream.  I don’t have a picture of that though because I had no daylight and the lighting in my kitchen gave it an icky greenish-blue cast.  Trust me though – whether you want to call this a cobbler or not, it doesn’t matter – it’s fantastic and super easy to make.

IMG_0712e

Last, I made my first clafouti.  I didn’t know what to expect since I’d never eaten a clafouti before, but I had cherries to use up so this is where they ended up!

IMG_0716e

This picture also came out with an unappetizing cast but I did my best at photoshopping the heck out of it.  Most clafouti recipes suggest serving with a dusting of powdered sugar as I did here, but I couldn’t help thinking it would be quite lovely with some whipped cream instead.  And I was right!  Such a renegade. 

So there you have it – three delicious ways to not be healthy with spring fruit.  Come on over to the dark side, it’s tasty! 

p.s. – Recently, a friend implied that I perhaps post too many photos of my dog here when she is expecting food pictures and she feels like she’s been rick-rolled.  Well, consider yourself oz-rolled, lady!  Heh heh heh.

Ozzie & the bee, up close!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2010 2:34 am

    Do you need two full cups of the berries to make the cobbler? I wonder if I could restrain myself from eating raspberries for a couple days to save up enough to make that; it seems like a worthwhile sacrifice!

    • June 28, 2010 12:24 pm

      I think you could get away with less, but I think you’d want at least a cup to a cup and a half.

  2. July 1, 2010 7:05 pm

    That last photo looks familiar. 🙂

    Oh…I am a berry fanatic and this post has got my mouth a watering. Time to get me some strawberry shortcake or a (fill in favorite)berry cobbler soon!

    • July 2, 2010 2:06 am

      Like that crop? 😉

      I love this nice early summer this year – I found local blueberries already this year!

      • July 2, 2010 12:30 pm

        Oh, I do like that crop!

        My wife made me some raspberry dessert last night. Like a cobbler but flattened. Warmed up with a generous scoop of vanilla ice cream. The best part, there’s lots more to enjoy over the long weekend. 🙂

  3. LeighG permalink
    July 8, 2010 2:42 pm

    You could NEVER have too many pictures of Ozzie!!! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. How We Spent Our 4th « Karma's When I Feel Like It Blog

Leave a Reply

