Skip to content

Southern hospitality

June 2, 2010

Last week for work, I traveled to Forrest City, Arkansas.  It’s about 2 hours from Little Rock and 45 minutes from Memphis, which is just about plumb in the middle of nowhere.  There is civilization though!  We stayed at a very nice Hampton Inn and they have just about every fast food restaurant you can think of.  In fact, there were multiple billboards on highway 44 from Memphis advertising the McDonald’s in Forrest City, which leads me to believe it is the only one in the area.  Shocking!  Despite the big attraction that McDonald’s apparently is, we decided to get a fast food fix elsewhere with my first ever visit to a Sonic.  I think I messed up though – I got fries.  Should I have gotten the tots??  The fry box was touting the tots. 

Lest you think there is nothing to see in the Forrest City area, let me correct that notion and present you with the somewhat large canyon of Arkansas!

fc3

It doesn’t look like much in this picture but it really is quite large.  Not grand, but definitely large. 

Here’s the thing about dining in the Forrest City area: most of the restaurants don’t serve alcohol.  There are three that do serve beer and wine all week long and all three are Mexican restaurants.  There are a few others that also serve but they are only open on Thursday, Friday and Saturday.  We were there on Tuesday and Wednesday night.  On Tuesday, we had Mexican!  We went to the Moctezuma Grill and I had enchiladas and they were delicious, and so was the house made chips and salsa.  The sangria left a little to be desired though – no fruit that I could detect, so it was basically cold red wine. 

On Wednesday, we ate very well!  For lunch we went to the Hickory House for barbecue and we all had pulled pork – either a platter or a sandwich and we were all happy.  Dinner was even better.  We traveled to Colt, Arkansas – population 368 (!!!) – to Mike’s Family Restaurant where we tried a local specialty:

fc4

Mmmm, nice steak fries, right???  Wrong!!

fc1

They are pickles!  Fried dill pickles.  Sounds gross, tastes pretty good, actually.  I am not sure what the dipping sauce was but it was tasty with the pickles.  Mike’s also featured excellent steaks and they are supposed to be famous for their pie, so we had to indulge.  I had strawberry pie and it was crazy, crazy, insane good. 

My favorite part about traveling to Forrest City is flying in and out of Memphis.  On Thursday we finished up our business and headed back to Memphis where we checked into a really, really dumpy Holiday Inn by the airport.  Seriously, if you ever go to Memphis, do NOT stay at the Holiday Inn at the airport.  Ick!  Luckily, we weren’t staying there long.  We headed for Beale Street and let the fun begin!  We headed straight for Rendezvous where I advised my compadres to order a full order of ribs because I remember thinking the smaller portion I got the last time was a little too small.  And it was a good choice!

fc6

We all managed quite well to clean up those ribs and the slaw and beans weren’t too shabby either!  I even bought a jar of dry rub to bring home.  Mmmmm! 

It was a hot night in Memphis and was great to be outside in the street relaxing and taking in all the live bands up and down Beale Street. 

It was a whirlwind of a trip and I worked hard and came back exhausted, but well fed!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2010 12:48 am

    I used to live in Memphis and worked a few blocks from the airport…scary! You should AVOID everything around the airport.

    I can’t believe it was your first Sonic trip. In the future…

    YES to tots.
    YES to Cherry Limeade. I also like to have them add Cherry Syrup to Dr. Pepper…awesome.
    Their $1 sundae is pretty fun too.

    • June 3, 2010 2:04 am

      Thanks for stopping by, Holly, and for the Sonic advice! I will keep that in mind next time, although I am not sure when that will be. We don’t have one around here, but I may be back in Arkansas again sometime later this year.

  2. June 3, 2010 2:46 am

    Hey what’s that little asterisk in the corner of your comment?

    Do you have any pictures looking down into the somewhat large canyon? What’s its real name?

    Still can’t believe the fried pickles! Sounds like something Renae would eat at the Big E!

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      June 4, 2010 1:45 am

      The asterisk seems to be something new to indicate a reply, or maybe more specifically a reply by the author? Not sure yet.

      They actually call that thing the grand canyon. Not sure if it has a real name or not! I did some research online and I did find something about a canyon in Arkansas but it didn’t look like it was on the right spot on the map compared to wear we were. I have no other pictures – only saw it from the car.

    • Renae permalink
      June 10, 2010 1:18 am

      I have had fried pickles! How did you know? But it was at the Deerfield Fair in NH. They were surprisingly awesome. They came with some sort of dipping sauce, Ranch I believe and it was a great complement.

Trackbacks

  1. The Boston Red Sox, Baseball and Me « Karma's When I Feel Like It Blog
  2. Sausage and Ribs « Bread & Putter

Leave a Reply

