Skip to content

Mystic Not Pizza

May 25, 2010

Yes, I’m a slacker.  Here it is over a week since our return from a weekend in Mystic, CT and I haven’t blogged about it yet.   Meanwhile my sister has already blogged it twice.  Ah, the enthusiasm of fresh new bloggers!  Gotta love it!  

Anyway, we did manage to have some good eats on the southern shores of New England, including a Connecticut specialty I had never tried:

IMG_0392

It’s the hot lobster roll!  Served not with mayo or other salad-like fixings, but with hot butter.  Now, if I’m going to eat a plain lobster, I usually forego the butter and eat it plain.  But this was actually quite nice – the toasted roll makes a nice foil for the extra richness of the butter.  I tried it a place called Ten Clams where nothing on the menu is more than 10 bucks, so at $9.95, this was a bargain. 

Another southern New England specialty is the clam fritter.  My sister decided to try them and even posed with them, a la Jennifer Myszkowski!

IMG_0390

Unfortunately, her happy pose is in opposition to her reaction to the fritters.  There wasn’t much clam in them and after Renae and I tried them we all concurred – they tasted like unsweetened clam flavored doughnuts.

The food posing fun continued that evening at Mohegan Sun when we dined at SolToro Tequila Grill.

IMG_0425

Renae had fish tacos and I am pretty sure Karen had filet mignon tacos.  This time the food pose smiles are deserved – we all enjoyed our meals!  I also had tacos but mine were crispy duck – different and delicious!  But I think my favorite part was my drink – a raspberry mojito!  It had fresh muddled raspberries along with the mint and rum and was delicious and refreshing.

IMG_0424

The next day we had lunch at the RiverWalk Restaurant.  It was just okay – I tried more lobster – this time a lobster BLT. Unfortunately, there was way too much mayonnaise and it became a sloppy mess as I ate.  The bacon made it seem better though!

IMG_0527

Our favorite meal of the trip though was definitely Saturday night at the Dog Watch Cafe in Stonington.

IMG_0584

After a lovely drink outside on the dock, we were seated in the lively dining room and we enjoyed smoked chicken bruschetta for a starter, of which we made quick work!

IMG_0579

Renae and Karen both enjoyed the pizza salad for their entrees, which looked great and all…

IMG_0582

…blah, blah, blah.  But, people – mine was the shining star!!  A-number-one, king of the hill, top of the heap… I give you:

IMG_0583

World’s best fried oysters!!  Holy hell!!  Such deliciousness and delight – perfectly lightly breaded and fried, tender, sweet and incredibly inhale-able.  

So, that’s our quick culinary tour of southeastern Connecticut.  Someday I’ll be back, and I will have those oysters again!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Patricia Weldon permalink
    May 25, 2010 2:33 am

    I love the pictures and commentary. You all look so happy!

  2. May 25, 2010 2:37 am

    Hoo-boy, I didn’t remember posing with those fritters! Dang! My disappointment in them must have blocked my memory of it. And yes, they were filet mignon tacos! Glad you got to posting these; I’ll add a link over here! Don’t forget Scott’s assignment is due Wednesday, slacker! 😉

  3. May 25, 2010 2:48 pm

    Might be time to take a drive to Connecticut for a lobster roll. Me…lobster without butter is criminal. 😀 My stomach is growling so your photos do the food justice. The models aren’t bad either.

Trackbacks

  1. Mesmerizing Mystic – Part 1, the critters « Karma's When I Feel Like It Blog

Leave a Reply

