Skip to content

A few snapshots

April 29, 2010

If you are a Pioneer Woman fan, you are no doubt aware of the regular photo contests she holds. I am often flabbergasted by not only the sheer volume of the entries but by some of the truly fantastic photos she features. Right now, the subject is landscapes. She’s only two days in so far of featuring entries and holy cow! I am blown away! I don’t know how the heck she is going to choose.

I do think, however, that P’dub missed a few winnning photos in past contests! I mean, how could she have passed over this stunning canine masterpiece for the dog contest?

King of the world!

I call it King of the World, or at least King of the Picnic Table.

And then there was this shining specimen of feline greatness she missed in the cat contest.

Stella

Personally, I wouldn’t screw around with that cat.  She looks like she’s going to make you an offer you can’t refuse. 

Lest you think pet photos are all I’ve got, I did contribute this… thing for the macro contest.  I’m not really sure what this is.  Anyone?

closeup

But aren’t those dew drops purty??

And, just to show my range of subject matter, I also entered the Green contest.

Grass stains!

Heh. 

So, good luck to Pioneer Woman in choosing that landscape winner.  Meanwhile, I’ll be ready and waiting for that upcoming contest I just know you’ll have eventually – the Fluffy Little White Dogs Named Ozzie Contest.  I am going to own that one!!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2010 1:42 am

    Cute photos! You would definitely win the cute, fluffy white dog photo contest!! And that dew photo is beautiful!

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      April 29, 2010 1:49 am

      Thanks, Maggy! And thanks for stopping by!

  2. April 29, 2010 2:11 am

    If I had to guess, I’d say your cool dew shot takes place on a hen or a chick of a “hens and chicks” plant. The thickness of those petals is what makes me think that. Here’s a google image I got when I tried “hens and chicks” http://www.extension.iastate.edu/NR/rdonlyres/142301BB-C887-4AD9-A778-6576A285C347/14647/Echeveria1_52605.JPG

    Good guess?

    I do think Ms. PDub has certainly overlooked some great photos! 😉

    • April 30, 2010 2:02 am

      I think you are right! I took that at Tower Hill last summer. The more I look at that though, I don’t think that is dew. Looks like something oozing from inside the flower. Gross.

  3. Renae permalink
    April 29, 2010 2:57 am

    Did you dye the dog green for Easter or was that St. Patrick’s Day?

    • April 30, 2010 2:02 am

      LOL – no – that’s just what happens when the lawn is a little damp when it gets mowed!

  4. April 29, 2010 6:24 am

    Jen – I know you love her, but sometimes those we love maketh the odd mistake. This Ozzie pic is a triumph in canine gorgeousness, and I can’t imagine it ever being surpassed. It isn’t just cute, but has an edginess, too: “hey, look at me! I’m up here! I rock and rule!” Perhaps she didn’t want to make the other photographers feel dispirited on the dog front, much as teachers used to pick the blobby paintings of children who “tried” for painting of the week, when there was clearly a glaringly superior effort (occasionally by me 😀 ) to be chosen. I suspect Ozzie has been set askide in favour of someone from the huddled masses of dogdom, as he’s kind of risen beyond their scope. He was made for that plinth, btw.

    • April 30, 2010 2:03 am

      Susan, you are so wise! I never thought of that. That has to be it though – no other reasonable explanation!! 🙂

  5. May 7, 2010 3:23 pm

    He would have won my contest (if I ever ran one that is). Oh, well, Ree goofed. It happens. She missed out on my beautiful landscapes, too. She’s only human.

Leave a Reply

