Skip to content

Losh Kebab on Fresh Flatbread

April 21, 2010

I love Armenian food!  As I may have mentioned once or elebenty billion times on my old blog, my husband is half Armenian and I have learned a few of the dishes.  I’ve learned enough that these days, I even improvise with success.  So, here is my version of losh kebab – grilled lamb burgers.

IMG_0234

First, I chopped up half a red bell pepper with my nifty new Santoku knife. It’s a Calphalon and I got a great deal at Homegoods. It feels great in my hand, very balanced. And, food doesn’t seem to stick to it as much as with a traditional chef’s knife.

Along with the pepper, I chopped up a small onion and two small tomatoes and mixed it together with half a pound of ground lamb and one pound of ground beef. If I had fresh parsley on hand, I definitely would have used that, but I was improvising so I used about a tablespoon of dried instead.   I ground some black pepper, tossed in a teaspoon of kosher salt, and for flavor and moisture, about a quarter of a cup of dry red wine.

IMG_0236

I formed the mixture into eight small patties and preheated the grill.   I like to serve losh kebab with pita bread but I didn’t have any.  What I did have though was more of that ubiquitous bread dough.  I remembered Ivory Hut saying you could make naan with it and thought hey, that’s a flat bread you could wrap around something and make a sandwich out of it.   I also didn’t have any ghee, so I melted a little regular butter in my cast iron skillet along with some grapeseed oil to raise the smokepoint.  I don’t have a lid that fits that pan, so I had to use one that was a little smaller, which created quite the cacaphony as it fried away.

With a little patience, I had a stack of these beauties which I kept warm in a low oven while I tended to the grill.

IMG_0240

I grilled some onion slices along with the lamb patties and once everything had a nice char, I got ready to plate.

IMG_0241

I put two patties on each flatbread and topped it with the grilled onions, a few sliced tomatoes, and some tahini sauce – tahini paste mixed with warm water and lemon juice until pourable.

IMG_0242

Fold over and molly biskit! (That may or may not be a phoenetic spelling of an Armenian saying that means something to the effect of “eat it like it is your own.”  At least that’s what my mother-in-law used to say, so I’m going with it!)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2010 12:58 pm

    Lamb, uh, sorry, can’t bring myself to want to try it.

    Gotta ask though, were you using your handy-dandy toaster-pod for filming the frying or did you do that camera in one hand, tongs in the other?

    • April 22, 2010 12:02 am

      I’d suggest you watch that video one more time. Unless my toaster has also become animatronic, I don’t know how the video could have moved around like that! 😉

      I had the tongs in my left hand – that is why it took me two tries to pick up the bread.

  2. April 22, 2010 12:54 pm

    Oh yeah, durrrrrrrrr!

  3. Renae permalink
    April 26, 2010 1:00 am

    Laaaaam-Bert!

  4. April 26, 2010 1:49 am

    LOL – you would find that!!!

  5. LeighG permalink
    April 28, 2010 2:19 pm

    That looks soooooooo good!!!! Yum!!!

  6. LeighG permalink
    April 28, 2010 2:27 pm

    Laaaaam-Bert!! I love it!!

  7. YrbkMgr permalink
    June 8, 2011 4:29 pm

    This is an authentic recipe. My grandmother never used the red bell pepper nor the tomatoes, instead, just onions, parsley, and salt and pepper. But my grandparents were peasant immigrants so their food was much more simple. Try this with a thick Jajik (cucumber/yogourt sauce) instead of tahini for a flavor combo that is out of this world. And for the lady who said she couldn’t bring herself to eat ground lamb, all I can tell you is that my ex wife didn’t eat lamb either – until *I* made it. There’s a lot of misconception about lamb in the US and it is a tender flavorful meat when prepared properly. Kudo’s to Jennifer.

    • June 8, 2011 8:26 pm

      Thank you for your kind comments! I love cucumbers and yogurt and agree that would be fantastic with losh kebab.

      p.s. – I have moved this blog to a new address – http://breadandputter.net. Please visit there for new posts. Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

