Skip to content

Susceptible

April 19, 2010

I’m so easy.  No, not that kind of easy!  I just mean the kind where I am quite susceptible to suggestion.  I read a lot of food blogs and everyday I see fabulous looking food that other bloggers have made and think, I want to make that!  I want to eat that!  Like the Amateur Gourmet’s take on Mario Batali’s short ribs, or Smitten Kitchen’s blueberry crumb bars and soft pretzels.  (Please, click that link about the blueberry crumb bars – that post kind of makes me giggle still at my own expense – there is action and drama!)  Not to mention Ivory Hut’s bar and bread.  Well, Ms. Hut is at it again and this time it was ice cream.  I already have my own ice cream maker attachment for my KitchenAid stand mixer, but I have to admit the freeze bowl has been sitting in my freezer dormant for quite some time.  But, Ivory Hut’s enthusiasm got me to dig into the freezer, get the big zip bag of overripe frozen bananas out of the way, and pull out that bowl and fill it with something tasty!

I decided to riff a bit on this recipe which I have tried before for Peanut Butter Chocolate Ripple.  Inspired by Hut’s Honey Vanilla Ginger Chamomile, I thought if two flavors are good, aren’t four better?  After preparing the peanut butter ice cream per the recipe, I started layering.  I put about a third of the ice cream in the bottom of the container I was hard freezing in and then, using two butter knives, I drizzled in a tablespoon or so of Nutella instead of the chocolate sauce called for in the original recipe.  It came out pretty gloppy, so I used one of the knives to swirl it around in the cream.  Then, I sliced up a banana into small chunks and sprinkled them around the surface.  But I wasn’t done yet!  Next, a sprinkling of peanut butter chips and for good measure, some milk chocolate chips too.  I like my ice cream chunky!  I continued mixing and layering until I scraped every last bit out of the freeze bowl and waited for the next day for it to set up.

IMG_0243

And oh, was it worth the wait!  Creamy, chunky, flavorful.  My husband hasn’t always been impressed with my homemade ice cream ventures but this one impressed him right away.  “Now that was good!” he exclaimed after he finished the bowl – he was snarfing it down too fast to mention anything sooner. 

As it turns out, not only am I susceptible to suggestion, I am also evil, hee hee!  This weekend I was moving some things around in the freezer when I found a tub of leftover Katydid cookie dough.  It’s a fundraiser product that I bought from one of my nieces.  And I thought, you know what would be pretty tasty…

IMG_0247

This!!  An ice cream cookie sandwich!  And oh, dear, it was decadent and delicious although for some reason the bananas just weren’t quite working for me with the cookies.  Minor quibble!  The rest was fabulous! 

Now all that is left is to think of a good name for this new ice cream flavor because Peanut Butter Nutella Ripple Banana Chunk Peanut Butter Milk Chocolate Chip is a little clumsy.  What do you think?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2010 3:08 am

    Call it just plain ol’ “ButtChip” – the “butt” part covers all the nuts and butters and such, while the chip takes care of all the chips and bits and such you put in it! LOL

    Ok, tween you and hut, where can I get me a not-too-expensive ice cream maker????

  2. LeighG permalink
    April 19, 2010 1:53 pm

    Jen’s Chunky Gems, Chunk-O-licious Ice Cream Cookies…

  3. Renae permalink
    April 26, 2010 12:58 am

    Maybe just condense it a little.
    Nut Butt Chip

Leave a Reply

