Skip to content

Travels, Part 2

April 16, 2010

Last weekend, my sister (who has a new blog, by the way! Go check out her fun photography) and I went to the Cape for the weekend to visit our mother. And since we were there, we might as well enjoy some good food too! On Saturday we went to lunch at The Marshside Restaurant in Dennis. The view is lovely…

…and so is the food! I had a big fat lobster roll that was spilling out of its bun and was made the way I like – nuthin’ but lobstah and the tiniest bit of mayo just to help hold it together.

But Sunday’s lunch was even better. We headed to Chatham and ate at one of our favorites, The Impudent Oyster. And, I ate one of my favorite dishes there – Mussels Isabella!

You can’t tell from this picture, but those were some of the biggest, fattest, sweetest mussels I have ever eaten in my life. And the garlic and white wine broth….oh, man, talk about sop-ability!!  If only they gave me a slightly larger garlic roll for dipping!  Mmmmmmm. 

We did manage to get in a little beach time both days and I got some nice pictures.

But don’t let those sunny, blue skies fool you!  It was freezing that day, but at least it wasn’t crowded, so we had that going for us.  Not to mention I had a belly full of mussels, so I was happy.  Good ol’ Cape Cod – tasty food, lovely views and my mother lives there!  What’s not to like?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2010 1:34 pm

    Thanks for the blog shout-out!

    Since you like to experiment with recipes, I had a thought after seeing the picture of your lobsta roll. How about trying out making one of those hot lobster rolls we were talking about and telling me how it goes? Do you think it would taste okay with canned lobster? I can’t stomach the thought of cooking a live lobster myself! Crazy, I know.

  2. Jennifer A permalink*
    April 17, 2010 7:05 pm

    I have never tried canned lobster, but I have to admit that canned crab can pretty darn good so maybe it is worth a try.

    If you ever decide to cowboy up and cook a live lobster, just think of it as a giant bug when you are dropping it in the pot! A tasty, tasty bug.

  3. renae permalink
    April 18, 2010 2:03 am

    Dang! That is one good lookin lobster roll.

Trackbacks

  1. What’s Blooming – April Edition « Karma's When I Feel Like It Blog

Leave a Reply

