Skip to content

My Hometown

March 25, 2010

Okay, I lied.  In my last post I promised the next would be about a recipe that would be delightful for sopping up juices with that delicious bread.  But!  Today is the deadline for Scott’s latest challenge over at Views Infinitum.  I have to say that I had very good intentions going into this challenge and then they sort of fizzled and I got frustrated.  Let me start by saying that perhaps March is not the most picturesque month here in my hometown.  A little deeper into spring, and I might have been able to show you the gorgeous cherry trees in bloom in my neighborhood.

And at least in the summer our local parks are open.  Right now they are closed so the turf doesn’t get ruined with people running around in the mud.  In autumn, my town is rather well known for a little fair you might have heard of, and things get really colorful.

Sometimes, with a coating of snow sometimes everything looks prettier.  Even pictures taken with a cell phone crap-cam!

But, I can’t show you any of those things!  Forget you saw them!  🙂

IMG_0115_edited-1

I wanted to show a different side of my town, outside of the megamarts and strip malls.  My hometown is also a very pleasant suburb with pastoral landscapes…

IMG_0116_edited-1

…and quiet, winding side streets. It’s surrounded by hills…

IMG_0113

…and rivers.

IMG_0147

IMG_0117_edited-1

(I couldn’t seem to get the vantage point I would have liked for these river pictures.  I thought maybe a b&w treatment might make this one more interesting, but I’m not so sure.)

So, there it is – a little peek at my hometown, and two promises to go with it – that I do better with Scott’s next challenge, and that my next post really will feature something delicious to eat with that bread!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2010 10:51 am

    Looks like a nice place – yours. I’m looking foreward to see the spring in your hometown – on your blog 🙂

    • March 25, 2010 11:49 pm

      Thank you! I will be sure to feature more pictures around town as spring colors come out.

  2. March 25, 2010 1:23 pm

    I skipped those previews shots 🙂 and enjoyed the photos of your town as it looks in March. The B&W of the river reminds me of many rivers at this time of year. Fast, dangerous and brimming to capacity. The roads and hills about your town are quiet and getting ready to color your landscape over the next few weeks.

    Thank you for contributing to the assignment. I know people are anxious to see what goes with that bread!

    BTW, been to the Big E fairgrounds for horse shows but not the the event itself. Going to make a point of visiting it soon.

    • March 25, 2010 11:44 pm

      I do recommend the Big E if you have never been – bring your appetite! Of course, I am always focused on the food. 🙂

  3. March 25, 2010 2:14 pm

    Hi Jennifer! I grew up in Chicopee so I know your hometown fairly well (LOVE the Big E!!) I now reside in Beverly, MA and love it here as well. You’ve made your hometown look lovely! Thanks for the tour! 🙂

    • March 25, 2010 11:46 pm

      Thank you! I happen to know that West Springfield doesn’t stand up to Beverly though for beauty.

  4. karma permalink
    March 25, 2010 8:13 pm

    Nice just-under-the-wire entry to the contest. Definitely not pictures that I think of when I think of West Springfield.

  5. March 25, 2010 9:02 pm

    This town looks as a very nice and quiet place. At first sight a place I’d like to live – but perhaps it is too quiet?

    • March 25, 2010 11:48 pm

      Ah, but if you were to stop by in September this place is hopping! I did intentionally not photograph the busier parts of town – there’s plenty of shopping and dining at chain restaurants if you like that sort of thing. But it is a nice community and I love living here.

  6. March 26, 2010 6:25 am

    That’s a lovely town you are living in, Jennifer ! I imagine the pleasant walks along the river, in the parks, a quiet and green landscape. Surely there are busier parts in town but I like what you chose to present us. Thank you 🙂

  7. March 27, 2010 11:47 am

    What a sneaky little rule-breaker you are!!!!! LOL ;P
    I’m going to pretend I didn’t see those first three shots too. 🙂

    I have to say how much I like the photos you took. Nice use of the Rule of Thirds on that first shot! And I think the black and white treatment on the river photo definitely works. Things are still so gray. Very nice!

  8. karma permalink
    March 31, 2010 8:10 pm

    Scott mentioned in his recap of this assignment today that you changed something since he first saw it? I can’t figure out what it is!

  9. March 31, 2010 8:32 pm

    You know…I could have sworn the last time I checked she had removed those first three photos….oh, well, nevermind! (SNL reference)

Trackbacks

  1. Assignment 6: Recap « Views Infinitum

Leave a Reply

