Skip to content

The cruise post

February 15, 2010

I have been back from vacation for a solid week and I haven’t posted yet!  What a bum.  Good thing Karen and JBo pitched in while I was gone.  And did you read their posts?  There’s not very many comments.  I’ll wait here while you scroll down and check out those posts. 

All set?  Good!  So, what has been occupying my time was my first ever cruise and then coming home and getting back into reality and organizing photos and generally wishing I was on vacation far more often than I am.  My husband and I took a 7-day Western Caribbean cruise on Royal Caribbean’s Liberty of the Seas with two other couples.  My husband has never been all that interested in a cruise, but our friends talked us into it and we ended up having a great time.

The ship was huge and beautiful and the weather cooperated with mostly sunny skies and warm temperatures.  Now, everyone I’ve ever talked to about cruising always raved about the food.  So, I was excited about that.  And I have to say that though the food was good, it was certainly not as great as everyone built it up to be.

This was my first dinner, which was lovely.  Roast pork tenerloin with sauteed mushrooms, polenta, and broccoli.  Throughout the week in the dining room, there were hits and misses.  One evening my husband had lobster bisque which tasted like it came out of a can – not good at all.  One night I tried escargot for the first time!  They were interesting… not sure if it is something I would run to order again, but I was glad to try it.  There was a seafood platter one evening with lobster tails and shrimp that was fantastic.  The desserts were all over the place – from a sublime key lime pie to a ridiculously light, airy, fluffy…   cheesecake.  That’s just wrong. 

Breakfast and lunch at the buffet was excellent.  At breakfast there was an omelette station, massive trays of fruit, every kind of breakfast pastry you can imagine, waffles, pancakes, juices, yogurts, cereals, bagels, smoked salmon and even a specialized Asian breakfast buffet.  Lunches were anything from burgers and pizza to sandwiches, fries, salads, hot dishes, cold dishes, and everything in between.  I found myself eating four times a day fairly often – breakfast, lunch, late afternoon snack and dinner at 8:30. 

One evening, we had the pleasure of dining at Portofino’s, a specialty Italian restaurant onboard.  Here, the food was outstanding.

I started with the eggplant rollatini.  The eggplant was sliced thin and was very tender, and the filling melted in my mouth.

This is my husband’s caprese salad which was insane – it was delicious, but that portion was huge.  Nobody should eat that many mozzarella balls in one sitting, really.

Here’s my entree – grilled halibut with crab risotto.  The halibut was very fresh, and the risotto was creamy and rich.

My husband had the beef tenderloin with truffled mashed potatoes – I tried this and the meat was tender and that sauce was intensely savory.

My favorite, of course, was dessert.  My husband and I shared this sampler platter with flourless chocolate cake, tiramisu, panna cotta (or was that flan?) and white chocolate mousse.   But there was more!

For the table – chocolate covered strawberries, and Italian cookies.   The strawberries were fantastic – deep red and juicy.  

But, a cruise is about more than just the food!  There were beautiful places to see and beaches to relax on

When we finally returned to Miami, we consoled ourselves eating Cuban sandwiches at a sidewalk cafe on South Beach, watching Super Bowl fans parade in the streets.

I’ve been asked several times now if I would cruise again and I think I would.  I enjoyed moving from place and place and doing different things I’d never do anywhere else, like climbing a waterfall and swimming with dolphins.  I was a little unnerved by the crowds on the ship, and you know how people are.  People can be really rude.  But the service everywhere on the ship was fantastic, our staterooms were beautiful and immaculately kept, and there is plenty of entertainment.  I definitely recommend going with friends; it makes the whole experience that much more memorable.  And now, I’d like to just stare at this sunrise for awhile and pretend I am still there!

From Cruise 2010
2 Comments leave one →
  1. karma permalink
    February 15, 2010 9:26 pm

    Ahhhhhh… so much fun. I’ve definitely got to convince hubby that we need to take another cruise sometime soon. After our honeymoon the plan was to take one for our 10th wedding anniversary – almost 8 years since the 10th happened, no cruise yet. Your food pictures look really nice – you brought your regular camera to meals, I’m thinking, rather than using the cell?

  2. February 16, 2010 1:39 am

    Yes, the cell phone was put away as soon as we sailed away from Miami. Didn’t want any accidental international roaming charges!

Leave a Reply

