Skip to content

A mosiac of thoughts

January 29, 2010

It’s been a crazy couple of weeks for me. First it was computer issues, which may or may not have actually required that visit to the Geek Squad… maybe it was actually my router.  Or gremlins.  Or moths – did you know that the concept of a computer “bug” actually came from moths?  Back when they had those giant vacuum tubes, moths would actually get inside of them and cause problems.  Remember that first guy who won a million on Who Wants to be a Millionaire?  That was the million dollar question – what insect was the computer “bug” named after.  And I actually knew the answer!  Dang, that could have been me up there!!  Now you know – next Trivial Pursuit game you will be all set if that comes up.

So, anyway, yeah – the computer.  That was a problem.  But, who cares about problems – I’ve got a vacation to get ready for!  Yes, indeed, I am escaping the sudden gripping chill here in New England for sunnier shores.   That sudden white-out squall with thunder snow – know where I was?  On my way to the salon to get a manicure and pedicure.  But you can’t put your shoes and socks right back on after a pedicure, right?  So there I was, padding out to the car in my flip flops in the snow.  Good times! 

Wow, I keep digressing.  Saturday morning it is off to Miami and then a 7-night western Caribbean cruise, but not to worry!  I leave you here in capable hands – watch for guest posts from JBo, perhaps my sister and maybe a few surprises too. 

Before I go, I do have some catching up to do.  I am remiss in not telling you about a delicious restaurant experience at Mosaic Cafe in Northampton.  They don’t seem to have a website, but I found this menu on Urban Spoon.  The menu is French/Middle Eastern fusion and the atmosphere is casual.  You order at the counter and the food is brought to your table. 

There were five of us so we ordered five appetizers to share – they all sounded great.  Let’s take a look…

First, I’d like to point out that I have a new phone so my crap cam cell phone pictures are now slightly less crappy.  Interesting note though – the camera has a “flash”, which is more or less like a weird little LED flashlight and while it sounds like it would be better than nothing, I actually think it’s pretty crappy.  Example:

See?  All blown out and weird tones.  The first picture I took without a flash and just did corrections on my computer.  Better, yes?  But I am digressing again – that’s the hummus plate.  It was served with both pita and baguette and was good but not revolutionary.  (For revolutionary, try Cafe Lebanon.  My Armenian husband who inexplicably doesn’t really care about hummus, *loves* the hummus at Cafe Lebanon and wants to take it home in bulk.)

This was either the spinach briswats or the vegetable sigars – something wrapped in filo, and what isn’t good wrapped in filo?

Olive plate. Self explanatory.

And last but not least, feta pie – ahhh, glory – mounds of feta, olives and tomato on a pizza crust – I could have just eaten that.  But there was more!  I actually chose my entree off the sandwich menu, and for $6.99, I assumed the Crepe Marsiellaise would be smallish.  And then it arrived…

… and it took up an entire over sized plate!  The tender crepe was filled with chicken in a spicy, savory sauce in a true French/Middle Eastern hybrid manner.  Despite being full of appetizers, I was able to clean my plate – I couldn’t not finish, it was far too tasty.

And I seem to have dropped the ball once again, because I have a picture of Jennifer Myszkowski’s entree but no picture of her holding it! How did that happen??? Despair! She’ll have to pose with two dishes next time. Anyway, this was a vegetarian stew that both she and Margaret ordered and they both liked very much.

I believe both JBo and Pat enjoyed the Viande Baguette, they can correct me if I am wrong, but I do recall that they were also impressed with the portions for the price and enjoyed them.

We were surprised at the end of the evening with these beautful little glasses of strong, intensely minty tea – like the tea incarnation of espresso!  Delicious.  Thank you, Mosiac Cafe for a wonderful meal with a lovely ending. 

And finally, this is the end of this long, meandering post too.  I’ll check in next sometime in February.  In the meantime, be sure to check this space for those guest blogger posts and give them some love in the comments.  Au Revoir!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2010 3:23 pm

    Have a GREAT trip! Wow, it sounds great.

    My son married a Chinese girl (did I tell you about that? He’s 21- they ran off and eloped!) and she’s been introducing us to authentic Chinese food. She found a restaurant here in the Chinatown area of Houston where the waiters don’t even speak English and ordered food for all of us.

    ANYWAY, all that just to tell you that I took pictures of the food and thought of you. haha!!

  2. January 29, 2010 3:25 pm

    BTW, she says the Chinese food we Americans are familiar with is “Americanized.” Different spices, etc are used in authentic Chinese food. It did taste different.

  3. karma permalink
    January 29, 2010 8:11 pm

    Soooooooooo jealous of your trip! Especially now that its gotten so friggin cold here! Bring us some sunshine home please!

    Some of that food reminds me of the food we ate in NYC last year at that Greek place. That was all very fresh and tasty. BTW, we’ll have to start researching our lunch destination for this year- I made our reservation for this year’s trip.

  4. Marissa permalink
    March 17, 2010 5:45 pm

    I was a server there and I was just looking for reviews of the Mosaic Cafe. I like all the pictures. There aren’t too many yet online of the food so I’m glad you put some up. P.S. The filo thing would be the spinach briswats if there was just one of them. The sigars are a little more cigar shaped (longer and narrower) and there are two of them on the plate when it’s served.

  5. March 18, 2010 12:04 am

    Hi Marissa – thanks for stopping by! And thanks for enlightening us on the dishes I didn’t remember the names of. Now I am craving that feta pizza!

Leave a Reply

