Skip to content

Blogger Supper

January 26, 2010

Hi, while my computer is in the capable hands of the Geek Squad, my sister Karen takes over at the wheel with her adventures in food blog cooking.  Take it away, Karen!

  While Jennifer’s computer is recovering from its ailment, I thought my sister might be interested in a “guest blogger” entry.  I can’t promise to be nearly as witty and interesting as Jennifer, who in my eyes has “younger sibling” traits of wit and creativity. (Yes, I’m female and admitting to being the older one.)  But anyway, the other night as I was cooking, I took some pictures when I realized both the recipes I was using were from two of my favorite blogs (after Bread and Putter of course!): The Pioneer Woman and The Ivory Hut.

   Ms. Hut shared a recipe for homemade bread that looked so delicious and easy, I just had to try it.   It’s true, it was about the easiest bread I’ve ever made.  No kneading involved, and as far as I’m concerned, that’s a good thing.  Like Ivoryhut, I’d always longed for a homemade bread with the nice, crispy crust.  Everything I’ve tried with my bread machine has come out just “aw-ight.”  And using that heavy, counter-space grabbing behemoth just to make the dough that I’d still have to bake later just never seemed worth the trouble.  This recipe? Mix some yeast, water, salt and flour just until combined and let it sit there.  After it rises, shape it and let it sit a little more.  Then bake.  Here it is, in my really dirty oven (no, I don’t unfortunately have a self-cleaning one.  It is, however, a gas, wall-mounted double-oven which you gotta love when the holidays roll around or just when you have two things you want to bake at different temperatures), just to prove I did this myself.

 

The things that make this bread come out so nicely are two things you see in my dirty oven: the pizza stone and the broiler pan.  Both pre-heat with the oven for 20 minutes.  After you put the bread on the pizza stone, you dump a cup of water into the broiler pan and close the oven up quick to keep the steam that is immediately created inside the oven.  After a mere 40 minutes, this is your yummy result:

This is actually the second loaf I’ve made from Ivoryhut’s recipe.  I made a loaf last weekend and just stuck the leftover dough in the fridge.  Around noon this past Sunday, I pulled it out of the fridge and let it sit on the counter all afternoon.  It rose throughout the day, then I shaped it shortly before putting it in the oven.  After re-reading Ivoryhut’s directions, I realized I should have let it sit again after I shaped it, but dinner time was on the way so I just stuck it in the oven anyway.  And guess what?  It worked just fine and tasted delicious.  Ivoryhut mentioned that the longer you let this dough sit, the more of a sourdough flavor it acquires.  I did notice a bit of a sourdough scent to the dough the other day, but it didn’t really have much of a sourdough taste – which was fine with me.

The other recipe I made was P’Dub’s Meatball Soup.   Meatball soup? I originally thought when I first read this post, that sounds a little odd.  But odd it was not.  My husband ate two-plus servings of it, so I’m thinking its a keeper.  I didn’t even try to get my picky (that’s an understatement) younger daughter to try this, and my older daughter was at the boyfriend’s house for dinner  (more admission of my age – I’ve got a daughter old enough to have a boyfriend! Ugh!) so I don’t have additional opinions on this recipe, but I say it was just right for a winter supper.  This recipe was definitely more hands-on than Hut’s bread, but I had the help of hubby sous-chef so it really didn’t seem like too much effort.  Hubby chopped the veggies for me…

                                                

…while I browned the meatballs (which he actually had formed for me while I was busy with another task). 

Then it was just a matter of simmering.  Amazingly enough, both bread and soup were ready to eat at the same time.  This combination of blogger recipes was just the thing for a lazy Sunday afternoon and satisfying supper.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2010 2:27 am

    Aww, shucks! Thanks. I do try to be the witty one! 🙂

    Looks like a great meal to me, and if your husband liked it, I am sure mine would too. Can’t wait to try that bread!

    • karma permalink
      January 27, 2010 3:09 am

      Hey I think I did the hyperlinks to the recipes wrong – they don’t work. Can you fix that? Or tell me how to, and I will? I just copied and pasted the Http:// thingie from the search bar. Are you supposed to get it some place else?

      • Jennifer A permalink*
        January 28, 2010 2:19 am

        Okay, figured it out. They are all set now – you had two “http://” on them.

  2. LeighG permalink
    January 26, 2010 12:30 pm

    Great job Karen!! Both the bread and soup look like a perfect winter meal! I think I’m going to try both this coming weekend!! 🙂

  3. January 26, 2010 5:35 pm

    “They walk alike, they talk alike, at times they even WRITE alike…you can lose your mind!”

    Well, Jen was my first food blogger, so I must stay true to her. Good job, though, sis!

    Here’s something funny (for a change-ha!), I think I’m actually going to make that meatball soup. “What??! It’s madness!!” yes, I’m completely inept in the kitchen, but (don’t hate me) my husband is a hunter and has filled the freezer with venison chopped meat. It’s very lean and supposedly good for you, but I still hate the whole hunting bizness.

    That’s neither here nor there. The point is we’re always looking for new ways to use that meat. Won’t my venison eating friends be impressed when I tell them about this recipe?! One question. Where can I find venison eating friends?

    I’ll let you know how it turns out. The recipe, I mean.

    • January 27, 2010 1:56 am

      Go for it Caryl, I know you can do it! Let us know how it turns out – I have heard that in preparations like this where it mixed with a lot of other flavors that you really can’t tell it is venison.

      And thanks for stopping by, Caryl… you always make me giggle, buddy! 🙂

  4. karma permalink
    January 27, 2010 3:05 am

    Ever since I read Caryl’s comment I’ve been trying to remember what silly television show that quote was from! Someone please help me out. Do we kinda write alike? We have been known for sometimes having that strange “sister wavelength” thing going on even though we’re not twins. And you wouldn’t want to team up against the two of us in any game where knowledge of useless trivia will help you out – we’d definitely kick butt! : D

    • karma permalink
      January 27, 2010 3:06 am

      Hey how come I didn’t get a cute smiley emoticon? Did I do it wrong? 😀

      • January 27, 2010 1:19 pm

        I think you have to put the nose in to get the yellow smiley.
        🙂
        😀
        😀

    • January 27, 2010 1:19 pm

      Not to mention pictionary!

  5. January 27, 2010 3:59 pm

    “…when cousins…are two of a kind!!!!”

    The Patty Duke Show.

Trackbacks

  1. Bread! « Bread & Putter

Leave a Reply

