Skip to content

Happy New Year!

January 4, 2010

I’m a few days late for the new year, but that’s okay.  Because isn’t the first day back to work  after all the holidays the real beginning of the year?  I hope you’ve had some fun, had a chance to relax and had some good food too! 

One good thing I made for Christmas was Ivory Hut’s now legendary Bar.  Via Twitter, I let her know that I thought it was fabulous.  The words that came to me when it was fresh out of the oven were “butter in an otherworldly form.”  It’s sort of like a blondie loaded with dried fruit and nuts and more butter in the cakey part than you would think possible.

@ivoryhut's the Bar, out of the oven. on Twitpic

(hmm, note to self… TwitPic doesn’t post well on the blog.  Click on the picture to embiggen!)

One word of advice should you choose to throw all your resolutions out the window and make The Bar – do as the hut says and wrap them tightly.  My container was less than airtight and they got kind of dry and less otherworldly far too fast. 

 This weekend I was invited to a party where deep fried turkey was served.  It was my first taste of the delicacy, and I have opinions.

Share photos on twitter with Twitpic

First, it certainly looks impressive.  (Maybe not in this version of the picture though.  Once again, click to embiggen.)  Although, all I could think of was Peter Gabriel’s video for Sledgehammer.  Although somehow when I brought this up at the party, nobody other than my husband’s ex-wife (yes, we were at the same party together) knew what the heck I was talking about.  I can only attribute this the group at this party being either quite a bit younger or quite a bit older than me.

But of course, the most important thing about the turkey was the eating. And I have to say, it was definitely extremely moist. However, I detected an oily aftertaste that wasn’t all together pleasant.  So, as if Alton Brown didn’t already scare the crap out of me and make turkey frying look like a far more complicated endeavor than I ever really wanted to get into, my decision was confirmed not to get my own frying rig. 

And, the cauliflower love continues!  I had some leftover roasted cauliflower and chicken this weekend so I made soup out of it.  I sauteed some carrots, celery and onion in a little butter, then poured in some chicken broth and the cauliflower.  Once all the veggies were nice and soft, I pureed them with my stick blender (just wondering, when did they become “stab” blenders?  That seems to be all the rage in nomenclature these days.)  I added a splash of heavy creamy and then the cut up chicken.  And?  It was fabulous!  Oh, all the cauliflower catch-up I have to do!  My husband and stepdaughter agreed and we gobbled it all up for lunch, no leftovers. 

So, do tell, how were your holidays and what did you eat that was yummy?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2010 4:45 pm

    Lovely! I actually have an alternate recipe for “The Bar” that’s even denser and richer, and it’s more air-exposure-friendly. I’ll get around to posting it one of these days. 🙂

  2. karma permalink
    January 4, 2010 9:25 pm

    I’ve had fried turkey several times and never really noticed an oily aftertaste. Did the hosts of your party inject the bird with Italian dressing or anything prior to frying? I know you are a big Alton Brown fan, but I do think he has the tendency to overcomplicate some things. There’s not much to turkey frying. I’m pretty sure hubby has a set-up you could borrow if you did want to try it.

    I, of course, would have been right there with you with the Peter Gabriel reference. In fact, at many of my friends’ gatherings we fry a turkey and someone inevitably picks up the bird before frying to do a “Sledgehammer” dance.

    I can’t think of anything particularly new and yummy I had to eat over the holidays, but at a party this past Saturday I was given a starter for Amish cinnamon bread. I’ve never made it before. Any experience with that?

    • January 5, 2010 2:29 am

      Well, Alton’s complications in the turkey frying department are all about safety, and it’s hard to argue with that. I’m still not convinced that the flavor was good enough to bother. I wonder if because it was SO cold out that night if the oil couldn’t keep a high enough temperature. I think when oil isn’t hot enough, it penetrates the food.

      I did have Amish friendship bread before. It is fun at first, and then you wonder what to do with it. You can only give it to so many people, and you feel bad to throw it away.

Trackbacks

  1. Susceptible « Bread & Putter
  2. My Friend Erika « Bread & Putter

Leave a Reply

