Skip to content

My office is never silent

December 23, 2009

Today I was sitting at work with the radio on and I was struck by the beauty of this song.  It is Silent Night, as performed by Manheim Steamroller.  And though I have heard it many times, for some reason it just really worked for me today.  The melody is so beautiful, the words aren’t missed in this version.  And the end is perfect – gorgeous crescendo followed by soft toy piano notes and the sound of wind in the background.  Just take a few minutes and listen.

And after that lovely moment out of my day, contemplating the true meaning of Christmas, that schmaltzy gift song by Jim Brickman came on the radio.  And I felt like vomiting right there on my desk. 

But later, I came upon this and I felt happy again!

Hallelujah indeed.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Leigh G permalink
    December 23, 2009 9:31 am

    I love the Silent Monks… Glenn’s work took him to see the Boston Pop’s last week. One thing that stuck out was their version of “The 12 Days of Christmas”. We heard the tail end of what I’m guessing was the Boston Pop’s version on the radio but it used much more contemporary songs than the version on their web site so I’m not sure if it was them or not. I liked the one we heard on the radio better but either is definitely worth a listen. 🙂

    • December 24, 2009 2:54 am

      Rachel went to see the Boston Pops yesterday with two of her friends! Tom Caron read Twas The Night Before Christmas!

  2. December 23, 2009 10:57 am

    These are really great! Thanks for sharing. I don’t think I know the one which nearly had you vomiting over your desk, butI know the sort of song you mean. I get the same internal response over, “Mummy kissing Santa Claus.” I likes my sugar, but it seems even I have limits! 🙂 Hope you and yours have a wonderful Christmas, Jen!

    • December 24, 2009 2:56 am

      Thank you, Susan! And a very merry Christmas to you and yours too, along with hopes of not hearing the gift song, it must have been the mistletoe, or that really awful one about wrapped up in ribbons of love… Britney Spears maybe? Ack! 🙂

Leave a Reply

