Skip to content

Deck those halls and fa la la la

December 21, 2009

Somehow, Christmas has snuck right up on us.  I know I’ve been busy and I bet you are too… maybe you haven’t even noticed that I haven’t posted for a week!  But it wasn’t for naught.  My shopping – done!  And as of today, wrapping is also done!  Wheeeeeeeeee! 

This weekend I really got my holiday festiveness on while attending a performance of the Nutcracker at Springfield Symphony Hall, starring my two nieces.  Okay… they were actually a mouse and a soldier but to me they were the stars!  And then I went to two great parties – Margaret & Jeremy’s Soulstice party on Saturday night and Jennifer Myszkowski’s wrapping party (TM) today. For Margaret & Jeremy’s party, I whipped up some cranberry salsa which is always a big hit.

For the wrapping party (TM), I went with David Lebovitz’s holiday snack mix, although I changed it up by eliminating the pretzels and using all nuts – peanuts, pecans, walnuts, hazelnuts, whatever was left in a can of mixed nuts I had, and even a bunch of sunflower kernels.  I went easy on the chili powder this time because it was a wee bit too spicy for me the last time. 

And now I just have to finish planning for foodstuffs to bring to Christmas dinner and for another Christmas get together on Saturday.  So, what do you still have to do?  Do you have cooking or baking to do?  Share your status in the comments.  And to keep you grooving while you are wrapping or cooking, here’s a fun little music find.  It’s Huey Lewis & The News with an a cappella version of Winter Wonderland.  The video is unofficial and a little goofy, but just listen to those harmonies.  Good stuff.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. karma permalink
    December 21, 2009 8:30 pm

    Shopping done – except for a few folks I won’t see til January. Wrapping – haven’t even started yet. House cleaning – asked the hubby & kids to work on this for me while I am at work this week and they are not. Cooking/baking – will do that on the 24th. Another trip to the grocery store – when I get out of work on the 23rd.

    How’d you happen across the Huey Christmas music?

    • December 22, 2009 1:25 am

      I heard the song on the radio and I was sure it was some new group I had never heard of. I was so surprised when the DJ said it was Huey & the News. So, I looked it up online and found out it was originally released on a cassette single as an exclusive to HLN fan club members, 20 years ago! (I wonder if Renae has a copy!) And they were recently asked to contribute to some Christmas compilation CD so they dug this up and Johnny Colla re-mastered it.

  2. Renae permalink
    December 22, 2009 2:14 am

    Ha!, no I don’t have this version. Love it!

    Shopping done.
    Wrapping done.

    There’s still more cookie baking to do however, TONS of laundry, and way too much sorting, planning and packing to even think about or my wee little brain might implode. So I didn’t…and sewed tonight instead…Ka-chow!

    Oh, and HEY! WTH?! How come I’ve never had your cranberry salsa?!

  3. karma permalink
    December 23, 2009 3:20 am

    I think I had it for the first time on Turkey day, so that’s probably why Nae hasn’t had it.

    Ka-chow! Is that from Cars?

  4. December 23, 2009 11:18 am

    OOOh, I was tearing and sticking from nine until midnight last night, and It still is not a wrap. Sigh. More to do today. Scissors have legged-it into some obscure corner, so I am tearing, hoping my family appreciate the bohemian look, and hoping they don’t mind that half of my bottom lip is adhering to the sellotape, bitten, owing to lack of scissors. A wrapping party might get me to clean up my act! We don’t have those over here. Or bridal or baby showers. You peeps have a lot of social energy. I think we are a bit more grumpy and reclusive, as a nation. It is down to S.A.D. mayhap. I saw an old lady in the doctor’s waiting-room last week, so bow-legged from rickets, she could barely walk. It is humbling to think that two generations ago, lack of sunshine and poor nutrition resulted in this condition. We’ve had vitamin D added to margarine and I think bread, since WW2, and that has put things to rights.

    The snack looks fantastic! As a dieter kind of seeing the light at the end of the tunnel, I am feeling more confident about looking at the lovely foods here now, without climbing the walls with cravings. Learning to control the old appetite a little! I really need to learn to cook. My recycle box is spilling over with tins of baked beans and empty tubs of cottage cheese. 2010 needs to be the year of taking risks, and when they pay-off, not eating the results until I can’t move! All the best for your fab blog in the forthcoming year.

    • December 24, 2009 2:58 am

      Fabulous, Susan! You have reached some sort of a diet zen level of goodness and just at the right time. Treat yourself to something wonderful at Christmas. Thanks for stopping by!

      p.s. – I am a terrible wrapper too – all thumbs, and end up with crunched up edges requiring massive wads of tape. We’ll give ourselves A’s for effort.

  5. January 4, 2010 6:22 pm

    I.Put.On.TEN.POUNDS. Eeeek!!

    A pound of spinach, bag of microwaved mixed veg, and a yoghurt later, have achieved a slimming dinner and am back on the wagon. By Easter, I may have earned enough slack to make that awesome-sounding bar. Will keep visiting and learning!

    I am glad you descended into parcel-end scrunch abandonnage! I am not alone. 🙂

Leave a Reply

