Skip to content

True confessions!

December 9, 2009

Confession number one:  I am not Italian.  Shocking, I know, right?  The fair hair, blue eyes and freckles were making you think Italian.  That and the vague resemblance to John Cleese.  But, you should know, as it turns out… John Cleese… not Italian either!! 

Confession number two:  I do not have a regular, reliable recipe for tomato sauce.  I have no idea what I am doing.

Confession number three:  Due to confession number two, I buy sauce… in a jar. 

Yup, it’s all true.  Some foodie I am.  I’d like to think though that I am a bit of a jar sauce connoisseur.  Ragu – not so much.  Prego, a little better.  Barilla – you’d think it would be pretty good, but at least one variety I tried was truly disgusting so now I am afraid to try any of them again.  Classico has been my standby for awhile now.  But, there’s a new sauce in town!!  And the best part is that it is local…I give you…

Capa di Roma!   Dudes, this stuff is good, seriously, pinky swear and all that.  It’s perfectly balanced – not too sweet, not to acidy, not too salty… it’s just right!  The family is from Longmeadow, MA and they have a restaurant in East Hartford, CT.  They recently started selling their sauces at Big Y and Stop & Shop.  One day when I was shopping at Big Y, they were giving out samples of the sauce with bread for dipping.  I was sold!  I’ve bought it twice now and used it with meatballs (and yes, at least I make those myself) and tonight with chicken parm.  (Yes, homemade – pounded the chicken breasts myself and everything!) 

So, it’s a little more expensive than Classico, but if you are like me and look more like John Cleese than Sophia Loren and you are sorely lacking a personal sauce recipe, give it a try.  I won’t tell, promise!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2009 2:51 pm

    Hey Jen –
    While I do sometimes make my own sauce, more often than not, I am scrambling to put food in front of my hungry hoard and will use jarred sauce. (To be honest, I don’t think they even know the difference!) I’ll have to check this out because we have been trying to eat local. (It is a lot more difficult in the winter!) Thank you for the update!
    Jenn

  2. Debbie Barden permalink
    December 9, 2009 10:41 pm

    Jennifer – I’ve eaten at the restaurant and purchsed this sauce from my local Stop & Shop. It’s fab! Why would I spend all the time making sauce when this tastes like homemade and comes in a jar. BTW my homemade sauce doesn’t taste homemade, it’s frankly just not as good. Everyone needs to try this – it’s amazing!

  3. karma permalink
    December 10, 2009 9:41 pm

    Thanks for the tip! I usually like Prego pretty well, and I agree I’ve tasted some nasty Barilla.

    And RE: your tweet, we can no longer trust Teddy alone in the living room since the tree arrived. Only had to throw out one chewed ornament so far.

  4. January 19, 2011 8:46 am

    Glad I’m not alone in my devotion to the jar.

Trackbacks

  1. Rocco’s Mama’s Meatballs « Bread & Putter
  2. Spaghetti & Meatballs

Leave a Reply

