Skip to content

Charged up about Chard

November 17, 2009

Okay, let’s settle something here.  I have this friend who loves Swiss chard.  We were discussing Thanksgiving menus and she just casually mentions that she is serving sweet potatoes with Swiss chard and, I don’t know, some sort of honey dijon glaze, maybe.  Could have been chocolate sauce.  My brain shorted out at Swiss chard – who would want to ruin a perfectly good sweet potato with that… that… stuff.   And then I was browsing my blogroll and what does Smitten Kitchen have up?  Swiss Chard and Sweet Potato Gratin!  It’s like some sort of sick conspiracy!  So, do tell – is it me?  Or is Swiss chard just green-colored bitter, solidified dirt? 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. karma permalink
    November 17, 2009 7:58 pm

    You need another choice on your poll: “I’ve never had Swiss Chard before” – although if forced to vote, I’d probably have to go with the first choice. I can’t think of any greens that I would like cooked. They come out mushy. Why would you ruin sweet potato casserole with some sort of nasty greenery? In the words of Donkey, from the Christmas special “Shrek the Halls” — “sweet potatoes ain’t nothin’ without marshmallows!”

Trackbacks

  1. First Grass-Fed Meat CSA Shipment « Bread & Putter

Leave a Reply

